Press Release


From her earliest proposals during the late 1990s until her most recent work, Rosa Barba (Italian, resides in Germany) has woven a web of sculptures, installations, films and artist’s books. With an unusual treatment of the cinematic language and its components, the artist questions our present reality and our way of occupying the space that surrounds us—mentally and physically. She also proposes open debates regarding what is still to come. The artist creates new narratives and spatial pieces in which time itself is understood as a kind of accumulation, rather than a linear progression. On occasion, language eludes its semiotic function and moves towards abstraction, thus complicating how the work is read and heard.



 

















 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Rosa Barba, Drawn by the Pulse

Tabakalera, ICCC, San Sebastian (Spain)

22.06 - 14.10.2018


PrécédentSuivant

Français








Deutsch






Rosa Barba, Drawn by the Pulse, Tabakalera, ICCC, San Sebastian

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2018. All Rights Reserved

Exhibition June 22 - October 14, 2018. Tabakalera
International Centre for Contemporary Culture
Andre Zigarrogileak Plaza, 1
20012 Donostia / San Sebastián (Spain). T +34 943 01 13 11.







 







 











 





 



























 





 











Arid, extending landscapes—mainly deserts—and the relationship between film and astronomy act as the starting points to many of Barba’s most outstanding pieces. Both spaces, the desert and the cosmos, are capable of preserving documents regarding the relationship between human beings and nature and the influence that they have exerted on it. Deserts and astronomy also share something else: the encounter between old and new technologies, a coming together provoked by how they are used, as happens with deserts, or by the need to see what is not within sight, as is the case with astronomy. This relationship between the environment-as-document and the machine, mainly the machine of vision, together with a complex conception of time generated by the timelessness of vast spaces without geographical limits, allow Barba to propose works of an enigmatic nature, works of a certain opacity, that address the transformations of society and the changing ways in which we relate to it.


Her works carried out in astronomical observatories employ terrestrial shots that reproduce an ancestral mode of seeing, anchored to the earth and inherently linked to a need for knowledge. It is a gaze heavy with questions. This way of looking through and from two, such different and yet so closely linked, machines of vision – the telescope and the cinematic camera, favors speculation over that which is outside the reach of the human eye. In the case of the telescope, these distant things may be forms of nature like the planets or the stars. In the case of the camera, they may be experiences related to time and to the relationships between the “I” and the world. The act of seeing in these works also maintains a relationship with history, with that which has happened. This history is not the vestiges that can be traced through landscape, but rather the knowledge and fascination that the cosmos has aroused in scientists, philosophers, writers and artists.


In this context, the central axis of the show is the piece Drawn by the Pulse (2018), produced for this occasion and from which it takes its title. Filmed at the Harvard Astronomical Observatory, the work takes as its starting point Henrietta S. Leavitt´s (USA, 1868–1921) research on the properties of stars.














 
















 







Rosa Barba, Above the Plate and Receiver (still), 2016. 16mm film, optical sound; 5 min. © Rosa Barba.


Rosa Barba, Above the Plate and Receiver (still), 2016. 16mm film, optical sound; 5 min. © Rosa Barba.

Archives 1er semestre 2018

Rosa Barba, Drawn by the Pulse

Tabakalera, ICCC, San Sebastian (Espagne)

22.06 - 14.10.2018


PrécédentSuivant

Communiqué de presse

 

De ses premières propositions à la fin des années 1990 jusqu'à son travail le plus récent, l’artiste italienne Rosa Barba, qui vit et travaille en Allemagne, a tissé un réseau de sculptures, d'installations, de films et de livres d'artistes. Avec un traitement inhabituel du langage cinématographique et de ses composantes, l'artiste questionne notre réalité présente et notre manière d'occuper l'espace qui nous entoure, mentalement et physiquement. Elle propose également des débats ouverts sur ce qui reste à venir. L'artiste crée de nouveaux récits et des pièces spatiales dans lesquelles le temps lui-même est compris comme une sorte d'accumulation, plutôt que comme une progression linéaire. À l'occasion, le langage échappe à sa fonction sémiotique et se dirige vers l'abstraction, compliquant ainsi la façon dont l'œuvre est lue et entendue.
































 


















































English








Rosa Barba, Drawn by the Pulse, Tabakalera, ICCC, San Sebastian (Espagne)

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2018. Tous droits réservés

Exposition du 22 juin au 14 octobre 2018. Tabakalera ,
International Centre for Contemporary Culture
Andre Zigarrogileak Plaza, 1
20012 Donostia / San Sebastián (Espagne). Tél.: +34 943 01 13 11.









 







 











 





 



























 





 











Les paysages arides, qui s'étendent - principalement les déserts - et la relation entre le film et l'astronomie sont les points de départ de nombreuses pièces les plus remarquables de Barba. Les deux espaces, le désert et le cosmos, sont capables de préserver des documents concernant la relation entre les êtres humains et la nature et l'influence qu'ils ont exercé sur elle. Les déserts et l'astronomie partagent aussi autre chose: la rencontre entre technologies anciennes et nouvelles, un rapprochement provoqué par leur utilisation, comme dans les déserts, ou par le besoin de voir ce qui n'est pas en vue, comme c'est le cas de l'astronomie. Cette relation entre l'environnement-document et la machine, principalement la machine de vision, associé à une conception complexe du temps engendré par l'intemporalité de vastes espaces sans limites géographiques, permet à Barba de proposer des œuvres d'une nature énigmatique, des œuvres d'un certaine opacité qui aborde les transformations de la société et les façons changeantes dont nous nous y rattachons.

Ses travaux réalisés dans des observatoires astronomiques utilisent des plans terrestres reproduisant un mode de vision ancestral, ancré à la terre et intrinsèquement lié à un besoin de connaissance. C'est un regard lourd de questions. Cette façon de voir à travers deux machines de vision si différentes et pourtant si étroitement liés - le télescope et la caméra cinématographique - favorise la spéculation sur ce qui est hors de portée de l'œil humain. Dans le cas du télescope, ces choses éloignées peuvent être des formes de la nature comme les planètes ou les étoiles. Dans le cas de la caméra, il peut s'agir d'expériences liées au temps et aux relations entre le «je» et le monde. L'acte de voir dans ces œuvres entretient aussi une relation avec l'histoire, avec ce qui s'est passé. Cette histoire n'est pas celle des vestiges qui peuvent être tracés à travers le paysage, mais plutôt la connaissance et la fascination que le cosmos a suscité chez les scientifiques, les philosophes, les écrivains et les artistes.

Dans ce contexte, l'axe central du spectacle est la pièce Drawn by the Pulse (2018), produite pour cette occasion et dont elle tire son titre. Tourné à l'observatoire astronomique de Harvard, l’œuvre prend comme point de départ la recherche de Henrietta S. Leavitt (USA, 1868-1921) sur les propriétés des étoiles.





Rosa Barba, Above the Plate and Receiver (still), 2016. 16mm film, optical sound; 5 min. © Rosa Barba.


Rosa Barba, Above the Plate and Receiver (still), 2016. 16mm film, optical sound; 5 min. © Rosa Barba.