Press Release


Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean presents the work of worldrenowned Japanese artist, Susumu Shingu, through an exhibition that is unprecedented in Europe. Occupying the entrance, the Grand Hall of the museum, a gallery as well as the Park Dräi Eechelen, the exhibition Spaceship brings together fifteen works including one new production.



















 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Susumu Shingu, Spaceship

Mudam Luxembourg

17.05.2018 - 06.01.2019



PrécédentSuivant

Français
Deutsch








Deutsch






Exhibition May 17, 2018 - January 06, 2019. Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d'Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean, 3 Park Dräi Eechelen, L-1499 Luxembourg-Kirchberg. T +352 45 37 85 1. Opening hours  : Thursday-Monday and public holidays 10am-6pm - Wednesday 10am-9pm










 







 











 





 



























 





 











Susumu Shingu, Spaceship, Mudam Luxembourg

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2018. All Rights Reserved

Susumu Shingu is particularly attentive to the way in which his artworks interact in a tangible way with the environment that hosts them and has endeavoured to establish a close relationship between the exterior edges of the museum and the clean lines of the interior spaces designed by Ieoh Ming Pei. The public will discover Water Tree II, a majestic work playing with water and its reflections produced specifically for the Grand Hall. Furthermore, a group of 21 wind-driven sculptures, Wind Caravan, is deployed in the Park Dräi Eechelen, from March 17, 2018.


Susumu Shingu’s art could not exist without the wind. His elegant sculptures come alive with the slightest movement of air and thereby reveal the intangible but omnipresent existence of wind. This "atmospheric" material that he sculpts emphasizes his relationship to the world and his ecological conscience. All his work is underpinned by the harmonious quest for the rhythms and vibrations of nature. Thus, wind, water, light, rain and snow become the main actors in his work.


After graduating from the Tokyo University of the Arts in 1960, Susumu Shingu studied painting at the Academy of Fine Arts in Rome. Painter, sculptor, draughtsman, "researcher and philosopher" of nature, this artist of Japanese origin has devoted himself to sculpture and movement. In 2014, the Susumu Shingu Wind Museum was inaugurated at the Arimafuji Park in Sanda, near Osaka, Japan. This open-air museum features 12 kinetic sculptures that are driven by water and wind. Furthermore, Susumu Shingu works regularly with world-renowned architects such as Tadao Ando and Renzo Piano: in 2016, he designed in collaboration with Piano the sculptures for the lobby of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center in Athens. Susumu Shingu was born in Osaka in 1937. He lives and works in Sanda and Hyogo in Japan as well as in Paris.


Curators: Marie-Noëlle Farcy, Clément Minighetti

Expositions en cours

Susumu Shingu, Spaceship

Mudam Luxembourg

17.05.2018 - 06.01.2019


PrécédentSuivant

Communiqué de presse

 

Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d'Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean met à l'honneur, au travers d'une exposition inédite en Europe, le travail d'un artiste japonais mondialement consacré, Susumu Shingu. Investissant l'entrée, le Grand Hall du musée, une galerie d’exposition et le Park Dräi Eechelen, l'exposition Spaceship présente une quinzaine d'oeuvres dont une nouvelle production.






























 


















































English
Deutsch








Susumu Shingu, Spaceship au Mudam Luxembourg

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2018. Tous droits réservés

Exposition du 17 mai 2018 au 6 janvier  2019. Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d'Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean, 3 Park Dräi Eechelen, L-1499 Luxembourg-Kirchberg. T +352 45 37 85 1. Ouverture du jeudi au lundi et jours fériés de 10h à 18h, nocturne le mercredi jusqu’à 21h.




 








 







 











 





 



























 





 











Particulièrement attentif à la manière dont ses oeuvres dialoguent, de manière sensible, avec l’environnement qui les accueille, l’artiste s’est attaché à établir une relation étroite entre les abords extérieurs du musée et les lignes claires des espaces intérieurs dessinés par Ieoh Ming Pei. Le public peut notamment découvrir Water Tree II, une oeuvre majestueuse jouant avec l’eau et ses reflets, produite spécifiquement pour le Grand Hall, et aussi Wind Caravan, un ensemble de 21 sculptures animées par le vent déployé dans le Park Dräi Eechelen depuis le 17 mars 2018.


Cette oeuvre nomade parcourt notre planète depuis plus de vingt ans, traversant déserts et plaines, supportant le froid et les chaleurs extrêmes. L’art de Susumu Shingu ne pourrait exister sans le vent. Ses sculptures élégantes s’animent au moindre mouvement d'air et révèlent de la sorte la présence intangible mais omniprésente du souffle. Ce matériau « atmosphérique » qu'il sculpte souligne son rapport au monde, sa conscience écologique. Toute son oeuvre est sous-tendue par cette recherche harmonieuse des rythmes et des vibrations de la nature. Ainsi le vent, l’eau, la lumière, la pluie, la neige deviennent les acteurs principaux de ses créations.


Après avoir été diplômé de l’Université des Arts de Tokyo en 1960, Susumu Shingu étudie la peinture à l'Académie des Beaux-Arts de Rome. Peintre, sculpteur, dessinateur, « chercheur et philosophe » de la nature, l'artiste d'origine japonaise se consacre alors à la sculpture et au mouvement. En 2014, le Susumu Shingu Wind Museum est inauguré dans le Parc Arimafuji de Sanda, près d’Osaka au Japon. Ce musée à ciel ouvert présente douze sculptures cinétiques qui se déploient au gré de l’eau et du vent. Susumu Shingu a également collaboré de façon régulière avec des architectes de renommée mondiale tels que Tadao Ando et Renzo Piano. Avec ce dernier, il a conçu en 2016 les sculptures du hall d’entrée du centre culturel Stavros Niarchos Foundation, à Athènes. Susumu Shingu est né en 1937 à Osaka. Il vit et travaille à Sanda et Hyogo au Japon et à Paris.


Commissaires : Marie-Noëlle Farcy, Clément Minighetti