Image galleries works of artists


Outdoor art course in Münster, city center and parks. Free access.
See some works commissioned for the 2017 edition.





 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Skulptur Projekte 2017

Münster, various locations (Germany)

10.06 - 01.10.2017


PrécédentSuivant

Français
Deutsch




Deutsch






Skulptur Projekte 2017, Münster, various locations

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. All Rights Reserved

Cosima von Bonin + Tom Burr, Benz Bonin Burr

Cosima von Bonin works with exagerations. Her sculptures are distinguished by grotesque distorsions of scale, often in combination with an unusual choice of materials, for example fabric or plush. Collaboration with other artists is also a recurring aspect of her working method. She created her project for the courtyeard front of the museum with Tom Burr, whose works will be on view in a solo exhibition of the Westfälischer Kunstverein concurrently with The Skulptur Projekte.


Michael Dean, Tender Tender

In many of his works, Dean develops a kind of sculptural  writing in space. For the Skulptur Projekte 2017, Dean veiled the atrium with sheets of tranparent foil  ; only peepholes allow a view on his sculptures. A routing through the colonnade reconstructs the historic entrance of the old building. On the street in front of the museum, the artist uses stickers and further sculptures to address the relationship between interior and exterior.


Peles Empire, Sculpture

The women artists duo Peles Empire  (Katharine Stöver and Barbara Wolff) takes its name from Peles Castle ein Romania. Ths castle’s historicist interior decoration, whiwh reproduces styles of different periods,  forms the basis of an artistic approach that makes use of annotation, reproduction and collage. In the direct vicinity of Prinzipalmarkt Square, Peles Empire has erected a walk -in structure with a fake gable that serves as a place of encounters for artists and visitors.


Thomas Schütte, Nuclear Temple

With his figural and architectural sculptures, Thomas Schütte draw attention to inconspicuous urban squares and other forgotten spaces. In the old zoological gardens, he has placed an oxidized steel sculpture weighing several tonnes near two historical building fragments, the howl house and the weir, in th middle of a sandy area surrounded by a low wall.


Oscar Tuazon, Burn the Formwork

Tuazon’s sculptural constructions of wood, concrete or steel border an architecture. They emerge from his process of exploring the conditions of the exhibition context and the nature of temporary outdoor structures. On an abandoned industrial site on the canal he has set up a cylindrical concrete object that serves as a public freeplace, barbecue grill, outdoor heater and lookout tower.


Pierre Huyghe, After Alife Ahead

Huyghe’s large-scale installations often take the shape of holistic systems characterized by the broad spectrum of life forms they accomodate. His cultivated landscape turn out to be spaces for radical aesthetic experimentations and required extensive architectural deconstruction and alteration measures along with bio- and media-technological interventions to transform the former ice-skating ring into one of his environnments. For Münster’s Skulptur Projekte 2017, Huyghe has developed a time-based bio-technical system in a former ice rink that closed in 2016. This involved bio- and media-technological interventions and required extensive architectural de- and reconstruction. All the processes taking place within the very large hall are mutually interdependent: some of them are determined by the HeLa cell line, in a constant process of division in an incubator. Among its various effects, the cells’ growth triggers the emergence of augmented reality shapes. Variations in a Conus textile pattern change the spatial configuration: for example, the opening and shutting of a pyramid-shaped window in the ceiling of the hall. By digging into the earth, Huyghe transforms the ground into a low-level hilly landscape. In some spots, concrete and earth, layers of clay, styrofoam, gravel debris, and Ice Age sand are found as far as a few metres underground, interspersed with leftover surfaces. This space is inhabited, for instance, by algae, bacteria, beehives, and chimera peacocks. Biological life, real and symbolic architecture and landscapes, visible and invisible processes, and static and dynamic states are all fused into a precarious symbiosis.


A selection of works in previous editions : some visuals

Expositions en cours

Skulptur Projekte 2017

Münster, divers lieux (Allemagne)

10.06 - 01.10.2017

PrécédentSuivant

Galeries d’images d’oeuvres d’artistes

 

Parcours d’art en extérieur dans Münster, centre ville et parcs. Libre d’accès.

Voyez ci-dessous une sélection d’œuvres sélectionnées pour l’édition 2017 avec quelques explications énoncées en dessous.

















 


















































English
Deutsch


D

Deutsch





Skulptur Projekte 2017, Münster, divers lieux ArtCatalyse Expositions internationales

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. Tous droits réservés

Cosima von Bonin + Tom Burr, Benz Bonin Burr

Cosima von Bonin travaille sur l’exagération. Ses sculptures se distinguent par des distorsions grotesques d'échelle, souvent en combinaison avec un choix inhabituel de matériaux, comme des tissus ou des peluches. La collaboration avec d'autres artistes est également un aspect récurrent de sa méthode de travail. Elle a créé son projet pour le front de cour du musée avec Tom Burr, dont les œuvres sont présentées dans une exposition individuelle du Westfälischer Kunstverein en même temps que The Skulptur Projekte.


Michael Dean, Tender Tender

Dans nombre de ses œuvres, Michael Dean développe une sorte d'écriture sculpturale dans l'espace. Pour le Skulptur Projekte 2017, Dean a voilé l'atrium avec des feuilles de feuilles transparentes. Seules les édition précédentes permettent une vue sur ses sculptures. Un parcours à travers la colonnade reconstruit l'entrée historique de l'ancien bâtiment. Dans la rue en face du musée, l'artiste utilise des autocollants et d'autres sculptures pour aborder les relations entre l'intérieur et l'extérieur.


Peles Empire, Sculpture

Le duo des femmes artistes Peles Empire (Katharine Stöver et Barbara Wolff) tire son nom de Peles Castle en Roumanie. La décoration d'intérieur historiciste du château, qui reproduit des styles de périodes différentes, constitue la base d'une approche artistique qui utilise l'annotation, la reproduction et le collage. Dans le voisinage immédiat de Prinzipalmarkt Square, Peles Empire a érigé une structure de promenade avec un faux pignon qui sert de lieu de rencontres pour les artistes et les visiteurs.


Thomas Schütte, Temple nucléaire

Avec ses sculptures figuratives et architecturales, Thomas Schütte attire l'attention sur les quartiers urbains discrets et autres espaces oubliés. Dans les anciens jardins zoologiques, il a placé une sculpture en acier oxydé pesant plusieurs tonnes près de deux fragments de bâtiments historiques, la maison de hurlement et le déversoir, au milieu d'une zone sablée entourée d'un mur bas,


Oscar Tuazon, Burn the Formwork

Les constructions sculpturales de Tuazon en bois, béton ou acier bornent une architecture. Elles sont issues de son processus d'exploration des conditions du contexte de l'exposition et de la nature des structures extérieures temporaires. Sur un site industriel abandonné sur le canal, il a mis en place un objet en béton cylindrique qui sert de lieu public, de barbecue, chauffe extérieur et guichet.


Pierre Huyghe, After Alife Ahead

Les installations à grande échelle de Pierre Huyghe prennent souvent la forme de systèmes holistiques caractérisés par le large éventail de formes de vie qu'elles accueillent. Son paysage cultivé se révèle être des espaces pour des expérimentations esthétiques radicales et nécessite des mesures de déconstruction et d'altération architecturales étendues, ainsi que des interventions technologiques bio et multimédias pour transformer l'ancienne piste de patinage en un de ses environnements. Pour le Skulptur Projekte 2017 de Münster, Pierre Huyghe a en effet mis au point un système bio-technique basé sur le temps dans une ancienne patinoire qui a fermé ses portes en 2016. Cela impliquait des interventions technologiques biologiques et médiatiques et nécessitait de vastes interventions architecturales et des reconstructions. Tous les processus qui se déroulent dans la très grande pièce sont mutuellement interdépendants: certains d'entre eux sont déterminés par la lignée cellulaire HeLa, dans un processus constant de division dans un incubateur. Parmi ses divers effets, la croissance des cellules déclenche l'émergence de formes de réalité augmentée. Les variations d'un motif textile Conus modifient la configuration spatiale: par exemple, l'ouverture et la fermeture d'une fenêtre pyramidale dans le plafond de la salle. En creusant dans la terre, Huyghe a transformé le sol en un paysage vallonné de bas niveau. À certains endroits, le béton et la terre, des couches d'argile, de la styromousse, des débris de gravier et du sable de l'âge de glace se trouvent à quelques mètres sous terre, entrecoupés de restes de surfaces. Cet espace est habité, par exemple, par des algues, des bactéries, des ruches et des plumes de paon.

La vie biologique, l'architecture et les paysages réels et symboliques, les processus visibles et invisibles et les états statiques et dynamiques se fondent dans une symbiose précaire.


Voir ci-dessous une sélection de visuels d’œuvres installées lors des précédentes éditions de Skulptur Projekte, Münster