Press Release


Petrit Halilaj (b. 1986, Kostërrc, Skenderaj-Kosovo) often uses his own biography as a point of departure, adopting exhibition processes to alter the course of private and collective histories. Encompassing sculpture, drawing, text, and video, many of Halilaj’s works incorporate materials from his native Kosovo and manifest as ambitious spatial installations through which the artist translates personal relationships into sculptural forms.














 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Petrit Halilaj: RU

New Museum, New York (USA)

27.09.2017 - 07.01.2018


PrécédentSuivant

Français





Deutsch






Petrit Halilaj: RU, New Museum, New York

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. All Rights Reserved

For his New Museum exhibition, Halilaj presents a major new project that begins in Runik, the city in Kosovo in which he grew up and the site of one of the earliest Neolithic settlements in the region, where some of Kosovo’s most important artifacts have been found. Archaeological digs in 1968 and 1983 uncovered part of the country’s most significant material history from the period, including the musical instrument known as the Runik Ocarina. Now spread across two countries and several institutions as the result of the Kosovo War in the 1990s, the most valuable of these objects currently reside in storage at the Natural History Museum in Belgrade, with the less significant finds still kept at the Kosovo Museum in Pristina. Out of public reach and inaccessible to the people of Runik, these objects hold great symbolic value for a nation missing parts of its shared frame of reference, but also point to the condition of contradictory claims from two countries that share material heritage.

In “Petrit Halilaj: RU,” Halilaj presents a new video work, several large fabric sculptures, and an extensive environment that draws on his research into the flight patterns and habitats of migratory birds. Piecing together multiple institutional and archeological records coming from sources across borders, Halilaj makes the full extent of the findings in Runik available to the public for the first time. Recreating a total of 505 found and recorded objects and fragments as birds who have temporarily taken residence in an imagined landscape, Halilaj envisions these artifacts on temporary stopover, momentarily reunited as beings who live and thrive through movement, rather than belonging to any one site or context. Halilaj rebuts the idea that this collection should define only one nation, and also questions its scope through recollections of its Neolithic civilization by friends and neighbors in Runik. Such narratives are told through objects discovered on their land—horns, heads, torsos—which residents imbue with mystic significance and make the subject of alternative stories of origin. While these stories’ material proof has been displaced or lost, and to this day is still mistrusted to institutions officially charged with caring for them, they exist through description by and in the memory of individuals. This leads Halilaj from the real into the imagined, and he merges the factual with myths that in turn give shape to large sculptural forms that visitors can recline on. With “RU,” Halilaj presents history through personal and collective narratives, defined through movement and temporary residence—ultimately proposing how objects could serve a very different purpose in the context of museums, and as part of histories still being written.

This exhibition is curated by Helga Christoffersen, Assistant Curator.

Petrit Halilaj was born in Kostërrc, Kosovo, in 1986, and lives and works between Berlin; Mantua, Italy; and Pristina, Kosovo. Recent solo exhibitions include HangarBicocca, Milan (2016); Kölnischer Kunstverein, Cologne (2015); Bundeskunsthalle, Bonn (2015); National Gallery of Kosovo, Pristina (2014); Wiels, Brussels (2014); and Fondation d’Enterprise Galeries Lafayette, Paris (2013). His work has been presented at the 57th Venice Biennale (2017), the Israel Museum, Jerusalem (2016); Museo Marino Marini, Florence (2015); S.A.L.T.S., Switzerland (2015); Punta della Dogana, Venice (2015); Museion, Bolzano (2013); New Museum, New York (2012) and the 6th Berlin Biennale (2010). In 2013, Halilaj represented the Republic of Kosovo in the country’s first national pavilion in the 55th Venice Biennale. He was recently awarded a special mention by the Jury at the 57th Venice Biennale and is the winner of the Mario Merz Prize 2017.


















 







Exhibition 27 September 2017 - 07 January 2018. New Museum, 235 Bowery – New York NY 10002 (USA). Hours  : Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Sunday 11:00- 18:00. Thursday  : 11:00 – 21:00.




 






 











 





 



























 





 











Petrit Halijaj, RU, exhibition view at New Museum

Petrit Halijaj, RU, exhibition view at New Museum

Expositions en cours

Petrit Halilaj: RU

New Museum, New York (Etats-Unis)

27.09.2017 - 07.01.2018

PrécédentSuivant

Traduction du communiqué de presse

 

Petrit Halilaj (né en 1986, Kostërrc, Skenderaj-Kosovo) utilise souvent sa propre biographie comme point de départ, adoptant des processus d'exposition pour modifier le cours de ses histoires privées et collectives. Englobant la sculpture, le dessin, le texte et la vidéo, beaucoup d'œuvres de Halilaj intègrent des éléments de son Kosovo natal et se manifestent par des installations spatiales ambitieuses à travers lesquelles l'artiste traduit ses relations personnelles en formes sculpturales.





























 


















































English






ArtCatalyse Expositions internationales

Dans Petrit Halilaj: RU, Halilaj présente un nouveau travail vidéo, plusieurs grandes sculptures sur tissu et une installation monumentale qui s'inspire de ses recherches sur les habitudes de vol et les habitats des oiseaux migrateurs. En rassemblant de multiples documents institutionnels et archéologiques provenant de sources transfrontalières, Halilaj met à la disposition du public l'ensemble des résultats de Runik pour la première fois. Recréant un total de 505 objets et fragments trouvés et enregistrés comme des oiseaux qui ont temporairement établi résidence dans un paysage imaginaire, Halilaj envisage ces artefacts en escale temporaire, momentanément réunis comme des êtres qui vivent et prospèrent en mode  migration, plutôt qu’appartenant à un site ou un contexte. Halilaj réfute l'idée que cette collection ne devrait définir qu'une seule nation, et questionne aussi sa portée à travers les souvenirs de sa civilisation néolithique rapportés par des amis et des voisins de Runik. De tels récits sont racontés à travers des objets découverts sur leurs terres - cornes, têtes, torses - que les résidents imprègnent de signification mystique et qui font l'objet d'histoires alternatives sur leur origine. Alors que la preuve matérielle de ces histoires a été déplacée ou perdue, et se méfie encore aujourd'hui des institutions officiellement chargées d'en prendre soin, elles existent à travers la description par et dans la mémoire des individus. Cela conduit Halilaj du réel à l'imaginaire, et il fusionne le factuel avec des mythes qui à leur tour donnent forme à de grandes pièces sculpturales sur lesquelles les visiteurs peuvent s'asseoir. Avec «RU», Halilaj présente l'histoire à travers des récits personnels et collectifs, définis par le mouvement et la résidence temporaire - proposant finalement un autre dispositif où les objets pourraient servir un objectif très différent dans le contexte des musées et dans le cadre des histoires encore en cours d'écriture.

Cette exposition est organisée par Helga Christoffersen, conservatrice adjointe.

Petrit Halilaj est né à Kostërrc, au Kosovo, en 1986, et vit et travaille entre Berlin, Mantoue, et Pristina au Kosovo. Ses expositions personnelles récentes incluent HangarBicocca, Milan (2016); Kölnischer Kunstverein, Cologne (2015); Bundeskunsthalle, Bonn (2015); le Musée des beaux-arts du Kosovo, Pristina (2014); Wiels, Bruxelles (2014) et la Fondation d'Entreprise Galeries Lafayette, Paris (2013). Son travail a été présenté à la 57e Biennale de Venise (2017), au Musée d'Israël à Jérusalem (2016); Museo Marino Marini, Florence (2015); S.A.L.T.S., Suisse (2015); Punta della Dogana, Venise (2015); Museion, Bolzano (2013); New Museum, New York (2012) et la 6e Biennale de Berlin (2010). En 2013, Halilaj a représenté la République du Kosovo dans le premier pavillon national du pays à la 55e Biennale de Venise. Il a récemment reçu une mention spéciale du jury à la 57e Biennale de Venise et est le lauréat du prix Mario Merz 2017.
















 











Exposition du 27 septembre 2017 au 7 janvier 2018. New Museum, 235 Bowery – New York NY 10002 (USA). Ouverture mardi, mercredi, vendredi, samedi, dimanche de 11h à 18h, nocturne le jeudi jusqu’à 21h.





 






 











 





 



























 





 











© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. Tous droits réservés

Petrit Halilaj: RU au New Museum, New York
Petrit Halijaj, vue exposition au New Museum

Petrit Halijaj, vue de l’exposition au New Museum