International exhibitions

Archives 2nd half of 2013


Michel de Broin, Retooled Appliances

Bitforms gallery nyc, New York (USA)

24.10 - 07.12.2013

Précédent Suivant

Français



Press release art-agenda


bitforms gallery is pleased to announce Retooled Appliances, the first solo exhibition in the United States by artist Michel de Broin. Based in Montréal, de Broin is the 2007 recipient of the Sobey Art Award, and is best known for interventions and his re-functionalization of utilitarian objects. Rooted in conceptual premises, de Broin's work generates unexpected levels of complexity from found objects and physical juxtapositions. Established modes of signification are left behind, yielding retooled technological environments and new possibilities for public space. At times, his ingenuity can be nearly indiscernible upon first glance, appearing as a puzzle for the viewer to complete. For example, Shared Propulsion Car is a human-powered 1986 Buick Regal that de Broin modified furtively. During the Exit Art biennial in 2005, this revolutionary work was driven through Manhattan, presenting challenges to midtown traffic, despite its petrol-free combustion.












Michel de Broin, Retooled Appliances, Bitforms gallery nyc, New York

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2013. All Rights Reserved

Exhibition 24 October - 7 December 2013.  Bitforms gallery nyc, 529 West 20th St, 2nd Fl - New York NY 10011 (USA). Tel.: 212 366 6939. Opening hours : Tuesday - Saturday 11am-6pm .



Michel de Broin, Overpower, 2013. Cast bronze, light bulb, electricity, transformer, circuit, sensor, edition of 3. Courtesy bitforms gallery nyc. Photo: John Berens.

Michel de Broin, Overpower, 2013. Cast bronze, light bulb, electricity, transformer, circuit, sensor, edition of 3. Courtesy bitforms gallery nyc. Photo: John Berens.


In Oh Canada, a recent exhibition at Mass MoCA, de Broin's Tortoise consisted of standard picnic tables—an immediately recognizable representation of North American leisure culture—as building blocks to construct an elaborate fort. In 2011, during the New Orleans Prospect.2 biennial, de Broin harvested street lampposts that were uprooted by Hurricane Katrina, and reassembled them around a new core made from steel. Majestic, the omnidirectional and illuminated structure, was designed to challenge the urban landscape's horizontal and vertical forces. It has since been acquired by the National Gallery of Canada. Other notable works de Broin has presented in the US include two refrigerators at Eyebeam that he sealed together for the purpose of an icy romance, breaking the solitude of each machine's cavity. His first exhibition in New York took place at the Center for Curatorial Studies, in a master's thesis exhibition organized by Dr. Sarah Cook, where de Broin investigated the entropic loss produced by red wine in an electric circuit.

De Broin has exhibited widely in Europe and North America. The first mid-career institutional survey of his work was mounted by the Musée d'Art Contemporain, Montréal, earlier this year. In 2014 de Broin will unveil Mehr Licht, a newly commissioned 20-meter installation for the Marie Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus in Berlin, at the Bundestag federal parliament.

The exhibition at bitforms gallery features five pieces. Ranging from assemblage to video and photography, these works explore notions of the technological unconscious, as well as resistance and entropy. All studies of physical potential, these works are imaginative and challenge the utopic or authoritative conventions associated with technical progress. Using recursive systems, de Broin disrupts the function of everyday mechanisms and objects. Asymmetries are created between cause and effect. Crafting new relationships between waste, productivity, risk and consumption, de Broin delves critically into Lewis Mumford's social philosophy of megatechnics.

The earliest work in the exhibit, Keep on Smoking, is an augmented bike inspired by the artist's observation of a man smoking cigarettes while cycling. The bicycle transforms kinetic energy that is produced by its rider. Powered by a renewable source of energy, the cyclist's will, a custom generator transforms this physical effort into electric current, which activates a smoke machine. In Smoke, a video that captures the sculpture's surreal ride through an Estonian cemetery, a wispy trail of vapor is discharged from the exhaust, startling bystanders with its unexpected emissions and the contradiction in propulsion. The project is a marriage of two machines: one that produces, while the other consumes. Their "copulation" generates smoke, which escapes freely into the atmosphere.

Overpower, de Broin's latest work to date, playfully examines electrical energy as metaphor for the technological unconscious. A small bronze cast figurine, a knight bearing a sword, pulses with 10,000 volts and ignites a broken household light bulb. Sparks fly as the characters fight off obsolescence, in an age-old battle between faith and reason.

Based on the assumption that there are more street lamps in our urban life than trees, the photograph Pile features a lampposts cut into logs, assembled in a wood cord.

Tour de force consists of five used automotive tires. Forced inside one other, the tires are condensed into an extremely reduced space. Their physical density forms an accumulated mass that suggests a peculiar re-invention of the wheel. Approximately 280 million tires are discarded by American motorists each year.

Archives 2ème semestre 2013

 cours

Michel de Broin, Retooled Appliances

Bitforms gallery nyc, New York (USA)

24.10 - 07.12.2013


Précédent Suivant

English


Traduction du communiqué de presse Art-agenda


Bitforms gallery est heureuse de présenter Retooled Appliances, la première exposition monographique aux Etats-Unis de l’artiste Michel de Broin. Vivant et travaillant à Montréal, Michel de Broin a été lauréat en 2007 du Sobey Art Award, mais est plus connu pour ses interventions et ré-utilisation d’objets utilitaires. Basé sur des hypothèses conceptuelles, le travail de Michel de Broin génère des niveaux inattendus de complexité à partir d’objets trouvés et de leurs juxtapositions physiques. Les modes établis de signification sont abandonnés, faisant émerger des environnements technologiques innovants et de nouvelles perspectives pour l’espace public. Parfois, son ingéniosité, presque indiscernable à première vue, apparaît au spectateur comme un rébus. Par exemple, Shared propulsion Car est une Buick Regal de 1986 discrètement modifiée. Durant l’Exit Art Biennal de 2005, cette œuvre révolutionnaire a été conduite dans Manhattan, comme un défi à la circulation en centre ville, malgré sa propulsion sans essence.  











Michel de Broin, Retooled Appliances, Bitforms gallery nyc, New York

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2013. Tous droits réservés

Exposition du 24 octobre au 7 décembre 2013. Bitforms gallery nyc, 529 West 20th St, 2nd Fl - New York NY 10011 (USA). Tél.: 212 366 6939. Ouverture du mardi au samedi de 11h à 18h.


Michel de Broin, Overpower, 2013. Cast bronze, light bulb, electricity, transformer, circuit, sensor, edition of 3. Courtesy bitforms gallery nyc. Photo: John Berens.

Michel de Broin, Overpower, 2013. Cast bronze, light bulb, electricity, transformer, circuit, sensor, edition of 3. Courtesy bitforms gallery nyc. Photo: John Berens.


Dans sa récente exposition au Mass MoCA, Oh Canada, L’œuvre Tortoise (Tortue) de de Broin se composait de tables de pique-nique - une représentation standard immédiatement reconnaissable de la culture de loisirs en Amérique du Nord - transformées en blocs de construction pour élever un fort. En 2011, durant la Biennale Prospect.2 à La Nouvelle Orléans, de Broin a récupéré des lampadaires déracinés par l’ouragan Katrina et les a réassemblés autour d’un nouveau pilône en acier. Majestic, structure éclairée omnidirectionnelle, a été conçue pour défier les forces horizontales et verticales du paysage urbain. Cette œuvre a depuis été acquise par le Musée des Beaux-arts du Canada. D’autres œuvres remarquables de Michel de Broin présentées aux Etats-Unis intègrent deux réfrigérateurs à Eyebeam qu’il a scellés ensemble dans le but d’une romance glaciaire, brisant la solitude de la cavité de chaque appareil. Sa première exposition à New York a eu lieu au Centre for Curatorial Studies, dans le cadre d’une thèse de maîtrise tenue par le Dr Sarah Cook, où l’artiste a étudié la perte d’entropie produite par du vin rouge dans un circuit électrique.

Michel de Broin a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions en Europe et en Amérique du Nord. La première monographie institutionnelle en milieu de carrière de son travail a été présentée au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, courant 2013. En 2014, l’artiste dévoilera Mehr Licht, une nouvelle installation de 20 mètres, commande publique pour la Marie Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus à Berlin, au Parlement Fédéral du Bundestag.

L’exposition à la bitforms gallery présente cinq pièces. Allant de l’assemblage à la vidéo et à la photographie, ces œuvres explorent les notions d’inconscient technologique, ainsi que de résistance et d’entropie. Étudiant toutes le potentiel physique, ces œuvres sont imaginatives et remettent en question les conventions utopiques ou autoritaires associées au progrès technique. Utilisant des systèmes récursifs, de Broin perturbe la fonction familière des objets et usages familiers. Des asymétries sont créées entre cause et effet. Élaborant de nouvelles relations entre les déchets, la productivité, le risque et la consommation, de Broin se réfère de manière critique à la philosophie sociale des mégatechniques de Lewis Mumford.

La première œuvre de l’exposition, Keep on Smoking, est une bicyclette « augmentée » inspirée par l’observation par l’artiste d’un homme fumant des cigarettes à vélo.  La bicyclette transforme l’énergie cinétique qui est produite par son conducteur. Alimenté par une source d’énergie renouvelable, la volonté du cycliste, un générateur adapté transforme cet effort physique en courant électrique, qui actionne une machine à fumée. Dans Smoke, une vidéo qui capture le parcours surréaliste de la sculpture à travers un cimetière estonien, un sentier cotonneux de vapeur s’évacue du tuyau d’échappement, surprenant les badauds avec ses émissions inattendues et la contradiction de sa propulsion. Le projet est un « mariage » de deux engins : l’un qui produit, tandis que l’autre dissout. Leur « copulation » engendre une fumée qui s’échappe librement dans l’atmosphère.

Overpower (Fulgurance), dernière œuvre à ce jour de Michel de Broin, explore de manière ludique l’énergie électrique comme métaphore de l’inconscient technologique. Une petite figurine de bronze coulé, un chevalier portant une épée, lance des impulsions de 10.000 volts et allume une ampoule ménagère brisée. Des étincelles fusent lorsque les personnages combattent l’obsolescence, dans une bataille sans âge entre la foi et la raison.

Basée sur l’hypothèse qu’il existe plus de lampadaires que d’arbres dans notre vie urbaine, la photographie Pile présente un lampadaire découpé avec des bûches assemblées par une corde de bois.

Tour de force se compose de cinq pneus automobiles d’occasion. Insérés l’un dans l’autre, les pneus sont contraints sans un espace extrêmement réduit. Leur densité physique constitue une masse accumulée qui suggère une ré-invention originelle de la roue. Environ 280 millions de pneus sont jetés par les automobilistes américains chaque année.