Press Release


In 2018, the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst am Museum Ludwig will recognize Haegue Yang for her extraordinary body of work with the Wolfgang Hahn Prize. The Museum Ludwig will showcase the remarkable versatility of her entire oeuvre in the artist’s first-ever survey exhibition with over 120 works ranging from action-based objects from the 1990s to lacquer paintings, photographs, works on paper, video essays, anthropomorphic sculptures, performative pieces, and large-scale installations.
















 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Haegue Yang, ETA 1994-2018

Museum Ludwig, Cologne (Germany)

18.04 - 12.08.2018


PrécédentSuivant

Français








Deutsch






Haegue Yang, ETA 1994-2018, Museum Ludwig, Cologne

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2018. All Rights Reserved

Exhibition 18 April - 12 August 2018. Museum Ludwig, Heinrich-Böll-Platz - 50667 Cologne (Germany). T +49 22122126165. Hours: Tuesday–Sunday 10am–6pm





 





 







 











 





 



























 





 











Haegue Yang, Mountains of Encounter, 2008, Aluminum venetian blinds, powder-coated aluminum hanging structure, steel wire rope, moving spotlights, floodlights, cable
, Dimensions variable, Museum Ludwig, Köln, joint acquisition with the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst on the occasion of the 2018 Wolfgang Hahn Prize Installation view of Haegue Yang: ETA 1994–2018, Museum Ludwig, Cologne, 2018, © Haegue Yang, Photo: Museum Ludwig, Šaša Fuis, Cologne

Haegue Yang, Mountains of Encounter, 2008, Aluminum venetian blinds, powder-coated aluminum hanging structure, steel wire rope, moving spotlights, floodlights, cable
, Dimensions variable, Museum Ludwig, Köln, joint acquisition with the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst on the occasion of the 2018 Wolfgang Hahn Prize Installation view of Haegue Yang: ETA 1994–2018, Museum Ludwig, Cologne, 2018, © Haegue Yang, Photo: Museum Ludwig, Šaša Fuis, Cologne

 


In 2018, the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst am Museum Ludwig will recognize Haegue Yang for her extraordinary body of work with the Wolfgang Hahn Prize. The Museum Ludwig will showcase the remarkable versatility of her entire oeuvre in the artist’s first-ever survey exhibition with over 120 works ranging from action-based objects from the 1990s to lacquer paintings, photographs, works on paper, video essays, anthropomorphic sculptures, performative pieces, and large-scale installations.


The abbreviation ETA stands for “estimated time of arrival,” among other things. Thus, the exhibition title points to an artistic career in transit and the constant itineracy of an artist who maintains studios in Seoul and Berlin and has exhibited internationally since 1994.


The exhibition will begin with Yang’s first venetian blind installation from her 2006 Series of Vulnerable Arrangements—the 2006 Version Utrecht, an immersive and sensorial experience unfolding from a composition of various materials and the simultaneous use of wind, scents, light, and heat. Within this arrangement, video essays document the artist’s travels through cities around the world and convey feelings of home, isolation, and dislocation associated with her itineracy in quite personal commentaries.


One of the first rooms will feature early and in some cases reconstructed works that reveal Yang’s examination of Western art history from Duchamp to Fluxus and tendencies of Institutional Critique as well as the then-current Context Art. As in her first few exhibitions in the 1990s, these works will be staged or ironically shown in display cases, like in an archive.


A central part of the exhibition is Storage Piece. This key work was created in 2004 out of financial need and an acute lack of space as a collection of packaged works on shipping pallets. The work has since been exhibited in several configurations, and its arrangement will also change at regular intervals in the Cologne exhibition—a reflection of Yang’s consideration of transitory states. Furthermore, it was an important contribution to Conceptual Art in the mid-2000s, as well as a striking commentary on a rapidly changing art market and the increasing commodification of art.


Yang’s well-known anthropomorphic light sculptures will be represented in the exhibition with the "Medicine Men" series from 2010, among other works. These consist of a variety of materials: functional and industrially manufactured everyday objects such as clothing racks, light bulbs, electric cables, and party wigs. Yang herself refers to these sculptures as “shamans” or “transvestites,” thus pointing to the ambiguous gender and social roles that medicine men take on in nature religions. They also pose questions of exoticism and cultural identity which run throughout Yang’s work.


Yang will also continue her series "VIP's Union" (2001–) with a version for Cologne. Well-known local figures—VIPs from different areas of society such as culture, sports, business, and politics—will be invited to lend their favorite chair or table for the duration of the exhibition. This collection of different pieces of furniture will portray the local society and its domestic preferences.


The 12-meter-high DC Hall will feature two works consisting of blinds, Mountains of Encounter (2008) and Sol LeWitt Upside Down – K123456, Expanded 1078 Times, Doubled and Mirrored (2015). For the first time, two very different types of venetian blind installations will be juxtaposed in a single room: while Mountains of Encounter marked the beginning of a series of structurally complex compositions relating to historical events and personalities in Yang’s oeuvre, Sol LeWitt Upside Down – K123456, Expanded 1078 Times, Doubled and Mirrored is based on a cubic structure by the Minimalist artist Sol LeWitt, which Yang not only physically expands, but also conceptually condenses, doubles, mirrors, and finally turns upside down.


With her diverse oeuvre, Yang adeptly avoids clear attributions. Her works demonstrate elements of Institutional Critique and are conceptual as well as rich in cultural and historical references, while simultaneously sensually complex and emotionally charged. Across over 1500 square meters of exhibition space, this comprehensive retrospective’s spatial scenography will echo the conceptual dynamics of the works, lending the exhibition the quality of a Gesamtkunstwerk—harmonious yet full of dissonances.


Curator: Yilmaz Dziewior

Curatorial Project Management: Leonie Radine

Expositions en cours

Haegue Yang, ETA 1994-2018

Museum Ludwig, Cologne (Allemagne)

18.04 - 12.08.2018

PrécédentSuivant

Communiqué de presse

 

En 2018, la Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst am Museum Ludwig récompense Haegue Yang pour son extraordinaire travail avec le prix Wolfgang Hahn. Le Museum Ludwig présente la remarquable polyvalence de son œuvre dans la toute première exposition personnelle de l'artiste avec plus de 120 œuvres allant des objets d'action des années 1990 aux laques, photographies, œuvres sur papier, essais vidéos, sculptures anthropomorphiques, performatives pièces et installations à grande échelle qu'elle a réalisés.































 


















































English








ArtCatalyse Expositions internationales Haegue Yang, Mountains of Encounter, 2008, Aluminum venetian blinds, powder-coated aluminum hanging structure, steel wire rope, moving spotlights, floodlights, cable
, Dimensions variable, Museum Ludwig, Köln, joint acquisition with the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst on the occasion of the 2018 Wolfgang Hahn Prize Installation view of Haegue Yang: ETA 1994–2018, Museum Ludwig, Cologne, 2018, © Haegue Yang, Photo: Museum Ludwig, Šaša Fuis, Cologne

Haegue Yang, Mountains of Encounter, 2008, Aluminum venetian blinds, powder-coated aluminum hanging structure, steel wire rope, moving spotlights, floodlights, cable
, Dimensions variable, Museum Ludwig, Köln, joint acquisition with the Gesellschaft für Moderne Kunst on the occasion of the 2018 Wolfgang Hahn Prize Installation view of Haegue Yang: ETA 1994–2018, Museum Ludwig, Cologne, 2018, © Haegue Yang, Photo: Museum Ludwig, Šaša Fuis, Cologne

 


Haegue Yang, ETA 1994-2018 - Museum Ludwig, Cologne

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2018. Tous droits réservés

L'abréviation ETA signifie «estimation de l'heure d'arrivée», entre autres choses. Ainsi, le titre de l'exposition pointe vers une carrière artistique en transit et l'itinérance constante d'une artiste qui entretient des studios à Séoul et à Berlin et qui expose à l'international depuis 1994.


L'exposition débute avec la première installation de stores vénitiens Yang de sa série 2006 d'arrangements vulnérables - la version 2006 d'Utrecht, une expérience immersive et sensorielle qui découle d'une composition de divers matériaux et de l'utilisation simultanée du vent, des odeurs, de la lumière et de la chaleur. Dans le cadre de cet arrangement, des essais vidéo documentent les voyages de l'artiste à travers les villes du monde entier et transmettent des sentiments de foyer, d'isolement et de dislocation associés à son itinérance dans des commentaires tout à fait personnels.


L'une des premières salles présentera des œuvres précoces et dans certains cas reconstruites qui révèlent l'examen par Yang de l'histoire de l'art occidental de Duchamp à Fluxus et les tendances de la Critique institutionnelle ainsi que l'Art du contexte alors en vigueur. Comme dans ses premières expositions dans les années 1990, ces œuvres seront mises en scène ou ironiquement montrées dans des vitrines, comme dans des archives.


Une partie centrale de l'exposition est Storage Piece. Ce travail clé a été créé en 2004 pour répondre à des besoins financiers et à un manque d'espace en tant que collection d'œuvres emballées sur des palettes d'expédition. Le travail a depuis été exposé dans plusieurs configurations, et son arrangement changera également à intervalles réguliers dans l'exposition de Cologne - un reflet de la considération de Yang des états transitoires. En outre, ce fut une contribution importante à l'art conceptuel au milieu des années 2000, ainsi qu'un commentaire frappant sur un marché de l'art en évolution rapide et la marchandisation croissante de l'art.


Les célèbres sculptures lumineuses anthropomorphes de Yang seront représentées dans l'exposition avec la série «Medicine Men» de 2010, entre autres œuvres. Ceux-ci consistent en une variété de matériaux: des objets usuels fonctionnels et fabriqués industriellement tels que des porte-vêtements, des ampoules, des câbles électriques et des perruques de fête. Yang elle-même qualifie ces sculptures de «chamanes» ou de «travestis», ce qui souligne les rôles ambiguës des sexes et des rôles sociaux que les guérisseurs assument dans les religions de la nature. Ils posent également des questions d'exotisme et d'identité culturelle qui traversent l'œuvre de Yang.


Yang poursuivra également sa série "VIP's Union" (2001-) avec une version pour Cologne. Des personnalités locales bien connues - des personnalités de différents secteurs de la société telles que la culture, le sport, les affaires et la politique - seront invitées à prêter leur chaise ou table préférée pour la durée de l'exposition. Cette collection de différents meubles représentera la société locale et ses préférences nationales.


Le DC Hall de 12 mètres de haut présentera deux œuvres composées de stores, Mountains of Encounter (2008) et Sol LeWitt à l'envers - K123456, Expanded 1078 Times, Doubled et Mirrored (2015). Pour la première fois, deux types d'installations de stores vénitiens très différents seront juxtaposés dans une seule pièce: alors que Mountains of Encounter a marqué le début d'une série de compositions structurellement complexes concernant des événements historiques et des personnalités de l'œuvre de Yang, Sol LeWitt Upside Down - K123456, Expanded 1078 Times, Doubled et Mirrored est basé sur une structure cubique de l'artiste minimaliste Sol LeWitt, que Yang non seulement agrandit physiquement, mais aussi conceptuellement condense, double, reflète, et finalement tourne à l'envers.


Avec son œuvre diversifiée, Yang évite habilement des associations claires. Ses œuvres démontrent des éléments de Critique Institutionnelle et sont à la fois conceptuelles et riches en références culturelles et historiques, tout en étant sensuellement complexes et émotionnellement chargées. Sur plus de 1500 mètres carrés d'espace d'exposition, la scénographie spatiale de cette rétrospective complète fait écho à la dynamique conceptuelle des œuvres, conférant à l'exposition la qualité d'un Gesamtkunstwerk, harmonieux mais plein de dissonances.


Commissaire: Yilmaz Dziewior - Gestion de projet curatorial: Leonie Radine


Haegue Yang (* 1971 à Séoul) vit et travaille à Berlin et à Séoul. Depuis 2017, elle enseigne à la Städelschule, où elle a elle-même commencé ses études sous Georg Herold en 1994. Elle a été deux fois représentée à la Biennale de Venise en 2009 (dans l'exposition programmatique fare mondi et dans une exposition personnelle au pavillon coréen) , et en 2012 elle a participé à dOCUMENTA (13).


Exposition du 18 avril au 12 août 2018. Museum Ludwig, Heinrich-Böll-Platz - 50667 Cologne (Allemagne). Tél.: +49 22122126165. Ouverture du mardi au dimanche de 10h à 18h.