International exhibitions Chiharu Shiota, Haunch of Venison, New York

International 2012 Archives


Chiharu Shiota
Haunch of Venison, New York (USA)

17.05 - 16.06.2012














07.09 - 25.11.2012
































Précédent Suivant

Français




E-Flux Press release


Haunch of Venison is pleased to present a solo exhibition by Japanese performance and installation artist Chiharu Shiota from May 17th through June 16th, with a reception for the artist on May 17th from 6 to 8pm. The exhibition will include one of Shiota’s large-scale window installations, made entirely of found window frames from East Berlin. Also on view will be some of Shiota’s smaller “boxed” thread works, encapsulating personal found objects in webs of black thread.


The new window installation, a series being shown in New York for the first time, continues a theme that the artist has been exploring for several years. Though Shiota’s heritage is Japanese, Berlin has become her creative home, and it is unquestionably an inextricable part of her process. In her series of installations made entirely from window frames found in East Berlin, stacked to form various architectural structures, Shiota investigates physical and spatial perception while harking back to a very different reality in the city’s history. The windows, salvaged from demolition sites, deserted buildings etc. are layered and combined to create hollow structures lit from within. These windows are ingrained with the memories of those who used to look through them, and are heavy with meaning of what came before. The structure at Haunch of Venison will have an entrance, inviting the viewer to enter the structure to experience it from all perspectives.






















Exhibition 17 May - 16 June 2012. Haunch of Venison, 550 West 21st Street - New York, NY 10011 (USA). Tel.: 212 259 00 00.















© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2012. All Rights Reserved

Chiharu Shiota’s is best known for her monumental yet delicate installations, which evoke an eerie, melancholic feeling of both stillness and ritual. The intricacy of her thread work paired with the macabre nostalgia inherent in the found, used personal objects—from windows to shoes to burnt out pianos—recall what the artist has defined as the essence of her practice: “presence in the midst of absence.” Themes of remembrance and oblivion, childhood and memory, and emotional instability and anxiety resonate throughout Shiota’s work.





Courtesy of the artist and Haunch of Venison.








Below : Chiharu Shiota, State of Being (Children's dress), 2012, installation, 90 x 90 x 35 cm. Photo © Marika Prévosto


Chiharu Shiota, State of Being (Children's dress), 2012, installation, 90 x 90 x 35 cm. Photo © Marika Prévosto Courtesy of the artist and Haunch of Venison.

Chiharu Shiota, Haunch of Venison, New York

Chiharu Shiota
Haunch of Venison, New York (USA)

17.05 - 16.06.2012



















Précédent Suivant

English


Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux


Haunch of Venison invite du 17 mai au 16 juin 2012 l’artiste japonaise Chiharu Shiota. Cette exposition personnelle dévoilera une installation monumentale, réalisée entièrement avec des cadres de fenêtres trouvés à Berlin-Est. Seront également présentées quelques œuvres de moindres dimensions, des vitrines où d’anciens objets personnels trouvés par l’artiste sont emprisonnés dans des réseaux de fil noir.

La nouvelle installation des fenêtres, série présentée pour la première fois à New York, poursuit un thème que l'artiste explore depuis plusieurs années. Bien que l’origine de Chiharu Shiota soit japonaise, Berlin est devenu son territoire de création, et constitue une partie indissociable de sa démarche. Dans sa série d'installations entièrement constituées à partir de cadres de fenêtres trouvés à Berlin-Est, empilés pour réaliser diverses structures architecturales, Chiharu Shiota explore la perception physique et spatiale tout en renouant avec une réalité très différente de l'histoire de la ville. Les fenêtres, récupérées dans des sites en cours de démolition, des bâtiments abandonnés, etc., sont disposées par couches et installées de façon à créer des structures creuses éclairées de l'intérieur. Ces fenêtres conservent les souvenirs de ceux qui avaient l'habitude de regarder à travers elles, et sont lourdes du sens de ce qui est alors advenu. L’installation à Haunch of Venison disposera d’une entrée, invitant le spectateur à pénétrer dans la construction pour faire l'expérience de tous ses points de vue.














Exposition du 17 mai au 16 juin 2012. Haunch of Venison, 550 West 21st Street – New York, NY 10011. Tél. : 212 259 00 00.














Chiharu Shiota est bien connue pour ses installations à la fois monumentales et fragiles, qui évoquent une sensation étrange, mélancolique, entre méditation et rituel. La complexité de son travail de filet liée à la nostalgie macabre inhérente à son utilisation d’anciens objets personnels trouvés – des fenêtres aux chaussures et aux pianos brûlés - rappelle ce que l'artiste a défini comme l'essence de sa pratique: "La présence au centre de l'absence." Les thèmes de la mémoire et de l'oubli, de l'enfance et de la mémoire, ainsi que l’instabilité émotionnelle et l'anxiété résonnent tout au long des travaux de Chiharu Shiota.



Ci-contre : Photographie courtoisie de l'artiste et Haunch of Venison




Ci-dessous : Chiharu Shiota, State of Being (Children's dress), 2012, robe, peinture, métal et fil noir, 90 x 90 x 35 cm. Photo © Marika Prévosto


© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2012. Tous droits réservés

Chiharu Shiota, State of Being (Children's dress), 2012, robe, peinture, métal et fil noir, 90 x 90 x 35 cm. Photo © Marika Prévosto


Photographie courtoisie de l'artiste et Haunch of Venison Chiharu Shiota, State of Being (Children's dress), 2012, robe, peinture, métal et fil noir, 90 x 90 x 35 cm. Photo © Marika Prévosto

Archives 1er semestre 2012