International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Basia Irland, Reading the River

Museum De Domijnen, Sittard (The Netherlands)

29.11.2015 -21.02.2016

Précédent Suivant

Français






E-Flux Press Release


"My art often involves facilitating and fostering connections—with rivers and with each other. We are water. Our bodies house streams: lymphs, bile, sweat, blood, mucus, urine. Water enters, circulates, leaves—individualized hydrologic cycles. Each of us is a walking ocean, sloshing down the hallway with damp saline innards held together by a paper-thin epidermis." –Basia Irland, 2007









 





























The importance of water for all life on our planet is the point of departure for the work of the American artist Basia Irland (b. 1946, Ft. Smith, Arkansas). In her pioneering work of the past three decades, Irland focuses on rivers and watersheds, water scarcity, climate change, ecological restoration and waterborne diseases. Her sculptures, installations, photographs, National Geographic blog, and video documentaries have a strong participatory dimension. Through her poetic works, Irland hopes to reconnect people with their local waterways in order to foster commitment, care, appreciation, and responsibility. Reading the River is Irland's first-ever museum solo exhibition in Europe, and this substantial retrospective offers a unique opportunity to become acquainted with the work of this visual artist, writer, activist and Professor Emerita of the Arts and Ecology program at the University of New Mexico.


A lifelong passion for books and water is the common thread that runs throughout Basia Irland's consistent oeuvre. The objects she produces are often reliquaries of actions. They contain the memories of participatory projects dedicated to the mutual interconnectedness of people and all phenomena within the cosmos. Many works bear witness to a nomadic worldview with a deep understanding of different cultures. During international treks along rivers, the Gathering of Waters series originated as a way to reconnect a multitude of community groups with their local waterways and focus on collaborative and locally based actions encompassing an ethic of inclusion. These projects often result in portable Repositories, in which the knowledge and experience of waterways are assembled. Irland also created a series of Waterborne Disease Scrolls during stays in India, Nepal and Egypt, in which she brings attention to life-endangering diseases found in contaminated water. Since 2007, Irland has been making Ice Books: ephemeral, time-based sculptures carved from ice and embedded with a "text" consisting of local native seeds. The sculptures are placed into the stream; as they melt, the seeds are released and help contribute to the ecological restoration of riparian zones.

As a part of the exhibition, Irland made several new site-specific sculptures. In September 2015, she created a series of Ice Books that were launched into the River Maas near Born and into the Geleenbeek at Sweikhuizen. She also made a group of river Contemplation Stations that can be visited on location near Sittard during the exhibition. One of these Stations is sited within the museum. After dark, a video piece addressing climate change, entitled Below, can be seen in the windows on the front façade of the museum.

In conjunction with the exhibition Reading the River, a publication of the same name is being produced. In addition, Basia Irland has created a new limited-edition etching and aquatint, River Reverie, for Museum De Domijnen that is available for purchase at the museum.



























Exhibition 29 November 2015 - 21 February 2016. Museum De Domijnen, Kapittelstraat 6 - 6131 ER Sittard (The Netherlands). T. : +31 (0)46 4513460. Hours : Tuesday - Sunday 11:00 - 17:00.


























 





 











Basia Irland, Reading the River, Museum De Domijnen, Sittard

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2015. All Rights Reserved

Basia Irland, Tome I: Mountain Maple, Columbine Flower, Blue Spruce, Bouder Creek, Colorado from the series "Ice Books," 2007.




Basia Irland, Tome I: Mountain Maple, Columbine Flower, Blue Spruce, Bouder Creek, Colorado from the series "Ice Books," 2007.

Archives 2ème semestre 2015

Basia Irland, Reading the River

Museum De Domijnen, Sittard (Pays-Bas)

29.11.2015 -21.02.2016

PrécédentSuivant

Traduction du  communiqué de presse E-Flux


«Mon art implique souvent de faciliter et de favoriser des connexions -avec des rivières et entre nous. Nous sommes de l'eau. Notre corps héberge des ruisseaux :. les lymphes, la bile, la sueur, le sang, le mucus, l'urine. L’eau pénètre , circule, s’en va – avec des cycles hydrologiques individualisés. Chacun de nous est un océan en circulation, ballotant dans des conduits avec des entrailles humides et salines maintenues ensemble par un épiderme mince comme du papier ". Basia Irland, 2007

 












































English





Basia Irland, Reading the River, Museum De Domijnen, Sittard

L'importance de l'eau pour toute la vie sur notre planète est le point de départ du travail de l'artiste américaine Basia Irland (née en 1946 à Ft. Smith, Arkansas). Dans son travail de pionnière des trois dernières décennies, Basia Irland se concentre sur les rivières et les retenues d’eau, la pénurie d'eau, le changement climatique, la restauration écologique et les maladies d'origine hydrique. Ses sculptures, installations, photographies, son blog National Geographic et ses documentaires vidéo ont une forte dimension participative. A travers ses œuvres poétiques, Irland espère reconnecter les gens avec leurs cours d'eau locaux, afin de stimuler l'engagement, les soins, l'appréciation et la responsabilité. Reading the River est la toute première exposition muséale personnelle d'Irland en Europe, et cette rétrospective importante offre une occasion unique de se familiariser avec le travail de cette artiste visuelle, auteur, activiste et professeur émérite des Arts et du programme écologique à l'Université du Nouveau-Mexique.

Une passion pour les livres et l'eau est le fil d’Ariane qui parcourt toute l’oeuvre consistante de Basia Irland. Les objets qu'elle produit sont souvent des reliquaires d'actions. Ils contiennent les souvenirs de projets participatifs dédiés à l'interdépendance mutuelle de personnes et de tous les phénomènes dans le cosmos. De nombreuses oeuvres témoignent d'une vision nomade du monde avec une profonde compréhension des différentes cultures. Au cours de randonnées le long des fleuves internationaux, la série Gathering of Waters a constitué un moyen de reconnecter une multitude de groupes communautaires avec leurs voies navigables locales et se concentrer sur des actions de collaboration inscrites localement et englobant une éthique de l'inclusion. Ces projets se traduisent souvent par des Repositories mobiles, où les connaissances et l'expérience des cours d'eau sont assemblés. Irland a également créé une série de Waterbome Disease Scrolls lors de séjours en Inde, au Népal et en Égypte, où elle attire l'attention sur les maladies dangereuses provenant de l'eau contaminée. Depuis 2007, Irland a réalisé des Ice Books, sculptures éphémères taillées dans la glace et imprégnées d’un «texte» constitué de semences indigènes locales. Les sculptures sont placées dans la rivière; quand elles fondent, les graines sont libérées et contribuent à la restauration écologique des zones riveraines.


Irland a fait plusieurs nouvelles sculptures in situ intégrant l'exposition,. En septembre 2015, elle a créé une série d’Ice Books qui ont été lancés dans la rivière Maas près de Born et dans le Geleenbeek au Sweikhuizen. Elle a également fait un ensemble de Contemplation Stations qui peuvent être visitées sur place à proximité de Sittard durant l'exposition. Une de ces stations est située au sein du musée. A la nuit tombée, une vidéo sur les changements climatiques, intitulé Below, peut être vue dans les fenêtres de la façade du musée.

En conjonction avec l'exposition Reading the River, une publication éponyme est en cours de production. En outre, Basia Irland a créé pour le Musée De Domijnen une nouvelle édition limitée, River Reverie, qui est disponible à l'achat au musée.





















© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2015. Tous droits réservés

Exposition du 29 novembre 2015 au 21 février 2016. Museum De Domijnen, Kapittelstraat 6 – 6131 ER Sittard (Pays-Bas). Tél. : +31 (0)46 4513460. Ouverture du mardi au dimanche de 11h à 17h.




























 





 











Basia Irland, Tome I: Mountain Maple, Columbine Flower, Blue Spruce, Bouder Creek, Colorado from the series "Ice Books," 2007.




Basia Irland, Tome I: Mountain Maple, Columbine Flower, Blue Spruce, Bouder Creek, Colorado from the series "Ice Books," 2007.
ArtCatalyse Expositions internationales