Press Release


Oslo Kunstforening has the pleasure of presenting a cycle of inter-connected works and events in collaboration with Statsbygg and the National Museum, Ultima Oslo Contemporary Music Festival, Dansens Hus and Ekebergparken.

The center of this cycle is Letters Sent from Heaven, a unique exhibition of Japanese experimental physicist Ukichiro Nakaya's (1900-1962) photographs of snow crystals and electrostatic discharges which opened at Oslo Kunstforening August 26.

 









 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Ukichiro Nakaya, Letters Sent from Heaven

Oslo Kunstforening, Oslo (Norway)

26.08 - 24.09.2017


PrécédentSuivant

Français





Deutsch






The photographs were taken by Ukichiro Nakaya and his colleagues in the 1920s and 1930s. Nakaya's research began with investigations of the sparks that occurred during electrostatic discharge. When he later discovered the complexity of the snow crystals he became so impressed by their beauty that he changed the direction of his research. As a result of this, in 1936 he developed the world's first synthetic snow crystal.


The photographs are scientific documents, characterized by strong aesthetic values and artistic expression. They highlight the importance of observation and of images, both in research and in our ability to perceive and interpret what we see. This is a reminder that scientific research can extend beyond the pure empirical interpretation of data, to poetic and holistic observations of natural phenomena.


There is much to learn from Nakaya's working methods and his aspirations to observe and interpret nature, in addition to his desire and capacity to communicate his findings, which he did through his photographs, essays and scientific films. Two films describing his research are included in the exhibition. One of them, Frost Flower, was produced for the first ICSI conference (International Commission on Snow and Ice) in Oslo in August 1948. This is the second time this film will be shown in Oslo, after 69 years.
















 







Exhibition 26 August - 24 September 2017. Oslo Kunstforening, Rådhusgaten 19 - 0158 Oslo (Norway). Tel.  : +47 22 42 32 65. Opening hours  : Tuesday–Friday 12h-17h - Saturday–Sunday 12h—16h. Monday closed

















 





 



























 





 











Ukichiro Nakaya, Letters Sent from Heaven, Oslo Kunstforening, Oslo

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. All Rights Reserved

© Kaga City, Nakaya Ukichiro Foundation (detail).




Ukichiro Nakaya, Letters Sent from Heaven. Photo: Christina Leithe Hansen


Through the strange coincidence of showing Frost Flower in Oslo yet again, we can measure the way in which our attitudes towards nature have changed, or not.


All the exhibited photographs included in «Letters Sent from Heaven» are new prints, super high-resolution giclée copies of natural and artificial snow crystals, photographed between the 1920s and 1940s.


A version of this exhibition has recently been shown at KTH R1 Energiscenen, as part of the program of Dome of Visions, Stockholm, Sweden and at Riga Art Space, Latvia.


On September 9-10, four world-renowned Japanese icons, will be brought together in a trans-disciplinary series of events embracing the ephemerality of the water cycle, life, body, sound and light, involving fog sculptures, snow crystals, electrostatic discharges, a pioneering synthesizer composer and a dance legend.


Fujiko Nakaya, Ukichiro Nakaya's daughter, has been invited to create two of her renowned, site specific fog sculptures in Oslo. One of them for the roof terrace of the new National Museum on the occasion of the site’s Open Day, September 9. The seminar «Letters Sent from Heaven» will be hosted at Mellomstasjonen on the very same day. In the evening, Nakaya’s sculpture will become part of the live-performance «a•form», together with the composer Ryuichi Sakamoto and innovative dancer, Min Tanaka. Artist Shiro Takatani is the lighting designer for the event.


The following day everyone is invited to the unveiling of a second fog sculpture in Ekebergparken. This sculpture will be on view throughout September. To know more…


More information about the event here


Ukichiro Nakaya was a scientist who produced observations that can be treated as both scientific contributions as well as artistic. His daughter, having grown up with an intimate understanding of his work, became an artist who utilizes science in her work and synthesizes natural phenomena.


The photographs included in «Letters Sent from Heaven» were first shown in 2014 at the Sapporo International Art Festival in Japan curated by Ryuichi Sakamoto. In Oslo, Sakamoto will perform music composed for Fujiko Nakaya’s work inside her fog sculpture. The cycle thus begins and ends in Oslo, over a span of 69 years.


This collaboration was initiated by Oslo Kunstforening and developed together with Ultima, Statsbygg, the National Museum, Dansens Hus and Ekebergparken. The curator behind the project is Marianne Hultman, artistic director at Oslo Kunstforening.


The collaboration is made under the auspices of Oslo Art Walk, a city development project with the aim of highlighting the contemporary art institutions located between Ekeberg and Tjuvholmen.


The photographic prints were produced by Creative City Sapporo International Art Festival Executive Committee. The traveling exhibition is produced in collaboration with Kaga City and Nakaya Ukichiro Foundation with support from The Japan Foundation.


Oslo Kunstforening has received generous support from the Arts Council Norway, the City of Oslo and URO.



© Kaga City, Nakaya Ukichiro Foundation (detail). Ukichiro Nakaya, Letters Sent from Heaven. Photo: Christina Leithe Hansen

Archives 2ème semestre 2017

Ukichiro Nakaya, Letters Sent from Heaven

Oslo Kunstforening, Oslo (Norvège)

26.08 - 24.09.2017

PrécédentSuivant

Traduction du communiqué de presse

 

Oslo Kunstforening a le plaisir de présenter un cycle d'œuvres et d'événements interconnectés en collaboration avec Statsbygg et le Musée national, le Festival de musique contemporaine Ultima Oslo, Dansens Hus et Ekebergparken.
Le coeur de ce cycle est constitué par Letters Sent from Heaven, une exposition originale de photographies de cristaux de neige et de décharges électrostatiques du physicien expérimental japonais Ukichiro Nakaya (1900-1962) qui a ouvert ses portes le 26 août.




















 


















































English






ArtCatalyse Expositions internationales

Les photographies ont été prises par Ukichiro Nakaya et ses collègues dans les années 1920 et 1930. La recherche de Nakaya a débuté avec des recherches sur les étincelles qui se produisent lors des décharges électrostatiques. Quand il découvrit plus tard la complexité des cristaux de neige, il fut si impressionné par leur beauté qu'il changea l’axe de sa recherche. À la suite de cela, en 1936, il développa le premier cristal de neige synthétique au monde.

Les photographies sont des documents scientifiques, caractérisés par de fortes valeurs esthétiques et une expression artistique. Ils soulignent l'importance de l'observation et des images, tant dans la recherche que dans notre capacité à percevoir et à interpréter ce que nous voyons. Ceci rappelle que la recherche scientifique peut s'étendre au-delà de la pure interprétation empirique des données, avec des observations poétiques et holistiques des phénomènes naturels.

Il y a beaucoup à apprendre des méthodes de travail de Nakaya et de ses aspirations à observer et à interpréter la nature, outre son désir et sa capacité à communiquer ses résultats, ce qu'il a fait à travers ses photographies, ses essais et ses films scientifiques. Deux films décrivant ses recherches sont inclus dans l'exposition. L'un d'eux, Frost Flower, a été produit pour la première conférence de l’ICSI (Commission internationale sur la neige et la glace) à Oslo en août 1948. C'est la deuxième fois que ce film est diffusé à Oslo, 69 ans après.















 







Exposition du 26 août au 05 novembre 2017. Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Limmatstrasse 270 – 8005 Zurich (Suisse). Ouverture mardi, mercredi, vendredi de 11h à 18h, le jeudi de 11h à 20h, samedi et dimanche de 10h à 17h.
















 





 



























 





 











© Kaga City, Nakaya Ukichiro Foundation (detail).




© Kaga City, Nakaya Ukichiro Foundation (detail).

Ukichiro Nakaya, Letters Sent from Heaven. Photo: Christina Leithe Hansen


Ukichiro Nakaya, Letters Sent from Heaven. Photo: Christina Leithe Hansen

L'étrange coïncidence de montrer Frost Flower une nouvelle fois à Oslo permet de mesurer la façon dont nos attitudes envers la nature ont changé ou non.

Toutes les photographies exposées dans Letters Sent from Heaven sont de nouvelles estampes, des copies en super haute résolution de cristaux de neige naturels et artificiels, photographiées entre les années 1920 et 1940.

Une version de cette exposition a récemment été présentée à KTH R1 Energiscenen, dans le cadre du programme Dome of Visions, à Stockholm (Suède) et à l’ Art Space  de Riga, en Lettonie.

Du 9 au 10 septembre, quatre icônes japonaises de renommée mondiale seront réunies dans une série transdisciplinaire d'événements embrassant l'éphémérité du cycle de l'eau, de la vie, du corps, du son et de la lumière, présentant des sculptures de brouillard, des cristaux de neige, des décharges électrostatiques, un compositeur pionnier de synthétiseur et une légende de la danse.

Fujiko Nakaya, la fille d'Ukichiro Nakaya, a été invitée à créer deux de ses célèbres sculptures de brouillard spécifiques au site à Oslo. L'un d'entre eux pour la terrasse sur le toit du nouveau musée national à l'occasion de la journée portes ouvertes du site, le 9 septembre. Le séminaire «Letters Sent from Heaven» se tiendra à Mellomstasjonen le même jour. Dans la soirée, la sculpture de Nakaya fera partie de performance a.form, avec le compositeur Ryuichi Sakamoto et le danseur Min Tanaka. L'artiste Shiro Takatani est le designer lumière de l'événement.

Le lendemain, tout le monde est invité à découvrir une deuxième sculpture de brouillard à Ekebergparken. Cette sculpture sera visible tout au long de septembre.

Plus d'informations sur l'événement ici

Ukichiro Nakaya était un scientifique qui a produit des observations qui peuvent être appréhendées à la fois comme des contributions scientifiques et artistiques. Sa fille, qui a grandi avec une compréhension intime de son travail, est devenue une artiste qui utilise la science dans son travail et synthétise les phénomènes naturels.

Les photographies rassemblées dans Letters Sent from Heaven ont été présentées pour la première fois en 2014 au Sapporo International Art Festival au Japon, organisé par Ryuichi Sakamoto. À Oslo, Sakamoto interprètera une musique composée pour la sculpture de brouillard de Fujiko Nakaya. Le cycle commence ainsi et se terminera à Oslo, sur une période de 69 ans.

Cette collaboration a été initiée par Oslo Kunstforening et a été développée avec Ultima, Statsbygg, le Musée national, Dansens Hus et Ekebergparken. La curatrice du projet est Marianne Hultman, directrice artistique d'Oslo Kunstforening.


La collaboration est réalisée sous les auspices d'Oslo Art Walk, un projet de développement de la ville visant à mettre en valeur les structures d'art contemporain situées entre Ekeberg et Tjuvholmen.

Les tirages photographiques ont été produits par Creative City Sapporo International Art Festival Executive Committee. L'exposition itinérante est réalisée en collaboration avec la Fondation Kaga City et Nakaya Ukichiro avec le soutien de The Japan Foundation.

Oslo Kunstforening a reçu un soutien généreux du Conseil des Arts de Norvège, de la Ville d'Oslo et de l'URO.


© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. Tous droits réservés

Ukichiro Nakaya, Letters Sent from Heaven, Oslo Kunstforening, Oslo