E-Flux Press Release


Ballroom Marfa is proud to present Strange Attractor, a group exhibition that will be on view in Marfa from March–August 2017, with an opening reception from 6–8:30pm on Friday, March 10. As part of the Marfa Myths festival, the reception will feature a unique collaborative performance by artist and musician Lonnie Holley and psych duo Tonstartssbandht, with visuals by Benton C Bainbridge.





 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Strange Attractor

Ballroom Marfa (United States)

10.03 - 16.08.2017


PrécédentSuivant

Français




Deutsch






Strange Attractor is an exhibition exploring the uncertainties and poetics of networks, environmental events, technology, and sound. The term “strange attractor” describes the inherent order embedded in chaos, perceivable in harmonious yet unpredictable patterns. This mathematical concept is a useful trope for the elusive order in our lived experience, and the vital pursuit of making meaning from unexpected connections. New and commissioned works employing sound, site and technology form the connective tissue of this expansive terrain.


As part of this process Strange Attractor invites the collision of historical and contemporary artworks in diverse media. The exhibition will feature Alexander Calder’s previously unseen, sound-making, hanging mobile Clangors (1942), alongside Channa Horwitz’ numerological graphic scores, together with contemporary pieces from artists working in a dazzling range of mediums.


For her newly commissioned work for Strange Attractor, artist Phillipa Horan has been experimenting with mycelium—the vegetative part of a fungus—and growing a figurative mycelium-based sculpture in a laboratory in Upstate New York. The final result will be a larger-than-life installation of Charon, the ferryman of Greek mythology. This biotech sculpture will have a usable lifespan of 30 years, after which it will biodegrade and may be regrown by the artist at her discretion.


Strange Attractor will also include a commission from Lucky Dragons, the collaborative project of Sarah Rara and Luke Fischbeck. The artists are forging specially designed tuning forks to be installed in the Ballroom courtyard, broadcasting their tones throughout the town of Marfa on overlapping radio frequencies in a continuously evolving sonic sculpture.


In addition to these commissions, Strange Attractor will include extant works that further the exhibition’s exploration of networks, environmental events, technology, and sound. Beatrice Gibson’s video F for Fibonacci uses aleatoric music, the computer-generated environments of the video game Minecraft, and talking-head economists, to create a kaleidoscopic satire of capitalism. Lawrence Abu Hamdan’s Conflicted Phonemes reflects upon the hybrid nature of accents, and the controversial use of language analysis to determine the origin of asylum seekers. Haroon Mirza’s Cosmos and Supernova are electroetched manifestations of Lophophora williamsii (peyote), a spineless cactus containing psychoactive alkaloids native to the Chihuahuan Desert of Texas and Mexico. The etchings display the residuum of a bond between traditionally ceremonial and electronic devices, and elicit perceptual rifts connected to notions of place, ritual and memory. Artist and citizen scientist Thomas Ashcraft presents photographs of upper atmospheric lightning known as transient luminous events or sprites, incorporated in a new body of work from his ongoing art and science project, Heliotown.


Also making its public debut is Douglas Ross’s abstraxi, a 47 x 6.5 foot, Jacquard-woven, cotton tapestry. Its colorful yarn coheres into a nearly photographic panorama of rubble and tire impressions raking across an unsettled landscape. The tapestry is displayed sculpturally as a two-sided, folding screen that will reshape the Ballroom Marfa exhibition space.


With this unique constellation of works Strange Attractor builds on Ballroom Marfa’s reputation for using art as a lens to examine ecology, history, science and technology. Strange Attractor creates an opportunity for audiences to apprehend meaning in an increasingly complex reality. Visitors to this remarkable exhibition will develop a sense of curiosity and agency, and cull meaning from systems and trends that lie at the limits of human comprehension.


Artists: Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Thomas Ashcraft, Robert Buck, Alexander Calder, Lucky Dragons, Phillipa Horan, Channa Horwitz, Haroon Mirza, Douglas Ross


Organized by guest curator Gryphon Rue


Strange Attractor is made possible by the generous support of the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts; Brown Foundation, Inc., Houston; Lipman Family Foundation; National Endowment for the Arts; Texas Commission on the Arts; Ballroom Marfa Board of Trustees and Ballroom Marfa Members.












 







Exhibition 10 March - 16 August 2017. Ballroom Marfa , 108 East San Antonio Street - Marfa, TX 79843 (United States).











 





 



























 





 











Strange Attractor, Ballroom Marfa

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. All Rights Reserved

Expositions en cours

Strange Attractor

Ballroom Marfa (Etats-Unis)

10.03 - 16.08.2017

PrécédentSuivant

Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux

 

Ballroom Marfa présente l’exposition collective Strange Attractor, qui explore les incertitudes et la poétique des réseaux, des événements environnementaux, de la technologie et du son. Le terme «attracteur étrange» décrit l'ordre inhérent au chaos, perceptible dans des modèles harmonieux mais imprévisibles. Ce concept mathématique est un trope utile pour l'ordre insaisissable dans notre expérience vécue et la quête vitale de faire sens avec des connexions inattendues. Des œuvres nouvelles et commandées employant le son, l’installation et la technologie forment le tissu conjonctif de ce terrain expansif.













 


















































English





Dans le cadre de ce processus, Strange Attractor invite la collision d'œuvres d'art historiques et contemporaines dans divers médias. L'exposition met en vedette les mobiles sonores suspendus Clangors (1942) auparavant inédits d'Alexander Calder, aux côtés des partitions numériques de Channa Horwitz et de pièces contemporaines d'artistes travaillant dans une gamme éblouissante de médiums.

Pour sa nouvelle œuvre réalisée pour Strange Attractor, l'artiste Phillipa Horan a expérimenté le mycélium - la partie végétative d'un champignon - et développé une sculpture figurative à base de mycélium dans un laboratoire de l'État de New York. Le résultat final sera une installation plus grande que la barque de Charon, le navigateur de la mythologie grecque. Cette sculpture biotechnologique aura une durée de vie d’utilisation de 30 ans, après quoi elle se biodégradera. Elle peut être recréée par l'artiste à sa discrétion.

Strange Attractor intègre également une commande de Lucky Dragons, le projet collaboratif de Sarah Rara et Luke Fischbeck. Les artistes forgent des diapasons spécialement conçus pour être installés dans la cour du Ballroom, diffusant leurs sonorités à travers la ville de Marfa sur les fréquences radio qui se chevauchent dans une sculpture sonore en constante évolution.

Outre ces commandes, Strange Attractor montre des œuvres existantes qui permettent à l'exposition d'explorer les réseaux, les événements environnementaux, la technologie et le son. La vidéo F for Fibonacci de Beatrice Gibson utilise la musique aléatoire, les environnements générés par ordinateur du jeu vidéo Minecraft et des écouteurs pour créer une satire kaléidoscopique du capitalisme. Les phonèmes conflictuels de Lawrence Abu Hamdan mettent en lumière la nature hybride des accents et l'utilisation controversée de l'analyse linguistique pour déterminer l'origine des demandeurs d'asile. Le Cosmos et la Supernova de Haroon Mirza sont des manifestations électro-gravées de Lophophora williamsii (peyolt), un cactus épineux contenant des alcaloïdes psychoactifs originaire du désert de Chihuahua au Texas et au Mexique. Les gravures montrent le résidu d'un lien entre les dispositifs traditionnellement cérémoniels et électroniques, et suscitent des fissures perceptuelles liées aux notions de lieu, de rituel et de mémoire. L'artiste et citoyen scientifique Thomas Ashcraft présente des photographies de la foudre atmosphérique supérieure connue sous le nom d'événement lumineux transitoire ou de sprite, incorporée dans un nouveau corpus de travail de son projet actuel artistique et scientifique Heliotown.

L’oeuvre de Douglas Ross's abstraxi, un 47 x 6,5 pieds, en jacquard tissé, tapisserie de coton fait sa première présentation publique. Son fil coloré s'intègre dans un panorama presque photographique de gravats et d'impressions de pneus avançant à travers un paysage instable. La tapisserie est affichée sculpturalement comme un écran plié à double face, qui remodèle l'espace d'exposition de Ballroom Marfa.

Avec cette constellation unique d'œuvres, Strange Attractor s'appuie sur la réputation de Ballroom Marfa pour utiliser l'art comme un focus pour examiner l'écologie, l'histoire, la science et la technologie. Strange Attractor crée une occasion pour le public d'appréhender le sens dans une réalité de plus en plus complexe. Les visiteurs de cette exposition remarquable développeront un sens de la curiosité et de l'agencement, et cueilleront le sens des systèmes et des tendances qui se trouvent aux limites de la compréhension humaine.

Les artistes: Lawrence Abou Hamdan, Thomas Ashcraft, Robert Buck, Alexander Calder, Lucky Dragons, Phillipa Horan, Channa Horwitz, Haroon Mirza, Douglas Ross

Commissaire invité : Gryphon Rue

Strange Attractor, Ballroom Marfa

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2017. Tous droits réservés

ArtCatalyse Expositions internationales

Exposition du 10 mars au 16 août 2017. Ballroom Marfa , 108 East San Antonio Street - Marfa, TX 79843 (Etats-Unis).