Mona Hatoum: Terra Infirma - Pulitzer Art Foundation, St. Louis

Press Release


The Pulitzer Arts Foundation presents Mona Hatoum: Terra Infirma, the first major U.S. exhibition of Hatoum's work in over 20 years. Organized by the Menil Collection, in Houston, Texas, where it was on view earlier this year, Mona Hatoum: Terra Infirma will include more than 30 sculptures and installations by the London-based Hatoum (b. 1952), installed throughout the Pulitzer galleries. The Pulitzer Arts Foundation presentation is organized by Curator Tamara H. Schenkenberg.



















 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Mona Hatoum: Terra Infirma
Pulitzer Art Foundation, St. Louis (United States)
06.04 - 11.08.2018


PrécédentSuivant

Français








Deutsch






Hatoum creates work that evokes the growing unease of a world that seems ever-expanding and as technologically networked as it is politically fractured by war and exile. Since the late 1980s, her sculptures and installations have been grounded in questions about how shifting geography and institutional structures can redefine our understanding of “home,” as she investigates place and the body through a minimalist language of form and a wide range of materials, from glass and steel to light and sand.


Pulitzer Director Cara Starke states, “Mona Hatoum is one of the most important international artists of our day, and we are delighted to collaborate with the Menil Collection to bring her work to St. Louis. With a thoughtful and poetic use of form and material, Hatoum offers nuanced perspectives on universal human questions. Probing ideas of home, borders, and political upheaval, her practice is particularly relevant to our contemporary moment of global migration, displacement, and political uncertainty.”


About Mona Hatoum

Born in Beirut to a Palestinian family, Hatoum studied at the Byam Shaw and the Slade Schools of Art in London, where she settled after having been stranded because of the outbreak of the Lebanese Civil War in 1975 while on a short visit to the city. Over the past 40 years, her work has been presented in major exhibitions around the world, including the Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris; Tate Modern, London; the Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago; and Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art, Doha, among other institutions. Hatoum was nominated for the 1995 Turner Prize and has been included in important group exhibitions such as Documenta, Kassel, in 2002 and 2017, and the 1995 and 2005 Venice Biennales. In 2011, Hatoum was awarded the Joan Miró Prize by Fundacio Joan Miró.







 
















 







Mona Hatoum, Grater Divide, 2002. Mild steel, 80 inches x variable width and depth. Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Museum purchase with funds donated by the Linde Family Foundation. © Mona Hatoum. Image courtesy of White Cube. Photo: Iain Dickens



Mona Hatoum, Grater Divide, 2002. Mild steel, 80 inches x variable width and depth. Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Museum purchase with funds donated by the Linde Family Foundation. © Mona Hatoum. Image courtesy of White Cube. Photo: Iain Dickens

Exhibition April 6 - August 11, 2018. Pulitzer Arts Foundation, 3716 Washington Boulevard - St. Louis, MO 63108 (United States).  T +1 314 754 1850. Hours: Wednesday–Saturday 10am–5pm, Friday 10am–8pm.


Mona Hatoum: Terra Infirma - Pulitzer Art Foundation, St. Louis

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2018. All Rights Reserved

Mona Hatoum: Terra Infirma, Pulitzer Art Foundation, St. Louis

Archives 1er semestre 2018

Mona Hatoum: Terra Infirma
Pulitzer Art Foundation, St. Louis (Etats-Unis)
06.04 - 11.08.2018

PrécédentSuivant

Communiqué de presse

 

La Fondation des arts Pulitzer présente Mona Hatoum: Terra Infirma (Terre blessée), la première grande exposition américaine sur le travail de Mona Hatoum depuis plus de 20 ans. Organisée par la Menil Collection, à Houston, au Texas, où elle a été exposée plus tôt cette année, l’exposition inclut plus de 30 sculptures et installations dans les galeries Pulitzer de l’artiste qui vit à Londres (née en 1952). La présentation à la Fondation Pulitzer Arts est organisée par la conservatrice Tamara H. Schenkenberg.































 


















































English








Mona Hatoum crée un travail qui évoque le malaise grandissant d'un monde qui semble toujours en expansion et technologiquement réseauté mais aussi politiquement fracturé par la guerre et l'exil. Depuis la fin des années 1980, ses sculptures et ses installations interrogent sur la façon dont la géographie et les structures institutionnelles peuvent redéfinir notre compréhension du «chez soi», en étudiant le lieu et le corps à travers un langage minimaliste et un large éventail de matériaux, du verre et de l'acier à la lumière et au sable.

Cara Starke, directrice de Pulitzer, déclare: «Mona Hatoum est l'une des artistes internationales les plus importantes de notre époque et nous sommes ravis de collaborer avec la collection Menil pour amener son travail à Saint-Louis. Avec une utilisation réfléchie et poétique de la forme et du matériau, Hatoum offre des perspectives nuancées sur les questions humaines universelles. En sondant des idées de chez-soi, de frontières et de bouleversements politiques, sa pratique est particulièrement pertinente pour notre époque contemporaine de migration mondiale, de déplacement et d'incertitude politique. "

A propos de Mona Hatoum
Née à Beyrouth d'une famille palestinienne, Hatoum a étudié à Byam Shaw et aux écoles d'art Slade à Londres, où elle s'est installée après avoir été bloquée à cause de l'éclatement de la guerre civile libanaise en 1975 lors d'une courte visite dans la ville. Au cours des 40 dernières années, son travail a été présenté dans de grandes expositions à travers le monde, au Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris, à la Tate Modern, Londres, au musée d'art contemporain de Chicago et au Mathaf: Musée arabe d'art moderne de Doha, entre autres institutions. Mona Hatoum a été nominée pour le prix Turner 1995 et a participé à des expositions collectives importantes  : Documenta, Kassel, en 2002 et 2017, et les Biennales de Venise en 1995 et 2005. En 2011, Mona Hatoum a reçu le prix Joan Miró de Fundacio Joan Miró.






Mona Hatoum, Grater Divide, 2002. Mild steel, 80 inches x variable width and depth. Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Museum purchase with funds donated by the Linde Family Foundation. © Mona Hatoum. Image courtesy of White Cube. Photo: Iain Dickens



Mona Hatoum, Grater Divide, 2002. Mild steel, 80 inches x variable width and depth. Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Museum purchase with funds donated by the Linde Family Foundation. © Mona Hatoum. Image courtesy of White Cube. Photo: Iain Dickens

Exposition du 6 avril au 11 août 2018. Pulitzer Arts Foundation, 3716 Washington Boulevard - St. Louis, MO 63108 (Etats-Unis).  T +1 314 754 1850. Ouverture du mercredi au samedi de 10h à 17h, nocturne le vendredi jusqu’à 20h.


Mona Hatoum: Terra Infirma, Pulitzer Art Foundation, St. Louis

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2018. All Rights Reserved