International exhibitions

International Archives 1st half of 2016


Katharina Grosse

Museum Frieder Burda, Baden-Baden (Germany)

10.06 - 09.10.2016

PrécédentSuivant

Français
Deutsch



Deutsch






E-Flux Press Release


With Katharina Grosse's paintings, the Museum Frieder Burda continues its series of monographic exhibitions of important international artists. In this context, Katharina Grosse, who has been considered one of the leading artists of her generation for many years now, adopts a very striking position. Her painting transcends, explodes and overshadows any kind of surface and turns it into a base on which to paint. In other words, it is directed at every surface in a room—walls, ceiling, floor—as well as the bodies and objects in the room.

In the exhibition at Museum Frieder Burda, Katharina Grosse concentrates on panel paintings, more the classical form of painting, but expands these in size and shape to hitherto unseen dimensions. The painting treatment with which she creates new images is of crucial importance. Through structuring elements such as lines and shading, but also through sprayed paint, her artworks seem to unfold in different ways: sometimes intensely concrete, sometimes blurred and unfocussed. Such pictures make a strong impression on the observer and, at the same time, leave an almost physical mark.
















 





























Katharina Grosse, Museum Frieder Burda, Baden-Baden

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2016. All Rights Reserved

Grosse often leaves behind the limits of what can be rationally described for the sake of a more indirect effect of the paint strokes, the vague, indiscriminate shapes and the unsuspected spaces that emerge in her painting. Thus, the spatial ellipse from 2009 creates its own location, providing a special stage through its spherical, oval shape and the sheer size of the painting. At more than seven metres high and ten metres wide, the picture easily holds its own against the architecture of the museum.

Placing her painting in the context of Richard Meier's architecture heightens the contrast between rationalism and utopia. The limits of the room, in this case, of the "White Cube", are suspended in favour of a dialogue between the coloured shapes, a dialogue that develops not only in the individual paintings but also between the different paintings. In this exhibition, Katharina Grosse is showing works spanning her entire career from the beginning of the 1990s right up to today. The openness of the architecture provides for fascinating perspectives and combinations.

The accompanying catalogue aims to replicate this range and is the first publication to feature more than a 100 prints of her paintings. Essays by Katrin Dillkofer and Helmut Friedel round off the book, which is published by Buchhandlung Walther König.







 







Katharina Grosse, Untitled, 2009. Acrylic on canvas, 240 x 388 cm. © Katharina Grosse / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016.

Katharina Grosse, Untitled, 2009. Acrylic on canvas, 240 x 388 cm. © Katharina Grosse / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016.


Exhibition 10 June - 9 October 2016. Museum Frida Burda, Lichtenstaler Allee 8 b – 76530 Baden-Baden (Germany). Tel. : +49 7221 398980. Hours : Tuesday-Sunday 10:00-18:00.

Archives 1er semestre 2016

Katharina Grosse

Museum Frieder Burda, Baden-Baden (Allemagne)

10.06 - 09.10.2016

PrécédentSuivant

Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux

 

Avec les peintures de Katharina Grosse, le Musée Frieder Burda poursuit sa série d'expositions monographiques d'artistes internationaux importants. Dans ce contexte, Katharina Grosse, qui a été considérée comme l'une des plus grandes artistes de sa génération depuis de nombreuses années, adopte une position très marquante. Sa peinture transcende, explose et éclipse tout type de surface et le transforme en support de peinture. En d'autres termes, elle envahit chaque surface dans une pièce – les murs, le plafond, le sol, ainsi que les corps et les objets dans la pièce.

Dans l'exposition au Musée Frieder Burda, Katharina Grosse propose des peintures de panneaux, avec une forme classique de peinture, mais étendue à des dimensions inédites. Le traitement de la peinture avec laquelle elle crée de nouvelles figures est d'une importance essentielle. Grâce à des éléments structurants comme des lignes et des ombres, mais aussi avec de la peinture pulvérisée, ses œuvres semblent se dérouler de différentes façons: parfois intensément concrètes, parfois floues et défocalisées. Ces images font une forte impression sur le visiteur et, en même temps, laissent une marque presque physique.

















































English
Deutsch




Katharina Grosse dépasse souvent les limites de ce qui peut être décrit de façon rationnelle pour le bien d'un effet plus indirect des coups de pinceau, les formes aveugles vagues et les espaces insoupçonnés qui émergent dans sa peinture. Ainsi, l'ellipse spatiale de 2009 crée son propre emplacement, fournissant un effet spécial à travers sa forme sphérique, ovale et la dimension de la peinture. A plus de sept mètres de haut et dix mètres de large, l'image se tient facilement contre l'architecture du musée.

Insérer sa peinture dans le cadre de l'architecture de Richard Meier renforce le contraste entre le rationalisme et l'utopie. Les limites de la salle, ici, du «White Cube», sont suspendues en faveur d'un dialogue entre les formes colorées, un dialogue qui se développe non seulement à l’intérieur des tableaux, mais aussi entre eux. Dans cette exposition, Katharina Grosse montre des œuvres couvrant toute sa carrière depuis le début des années 1990 jusqu'à aujourd'hui. L'ouverture de l'architecture offre des perspectives et des combinaisons fascinantes.

Le catalogue qui l'accompagne a pour objectif de reprendre cette gamme et c’est la première publication à présenter plus de 100 copies de ses tableaux. Des essais de Katrin Dillkofer et Helmut Friedel complètent l’ouvrage publié par Buchhandlung Walther König.




Exposition du 10 juin au 9 octobre 2016. Museum Frida Burda, Lichtenstaler Allee 8 b – 76530 Baden-Baden (Allemagne). Tél. : +49 7221 398980. Ouverture du mardi au dimanche de 10h à 18h.





 





 



























 





 











Katharina Grosse, Museum Freider Burda, Baden-Baden

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2016. Tous droits réservés

Katharina Grosse, Untitled, 2009. Acrylic on canvas, 240 x 388 cm. © Katharina Grosse / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016.

Katharina Grosse, Untitled, 2009. Acrylic on canvas, 240 x 388 cm. © Katharina Grosse / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016.