International exhibitions

Archives 2nd half of 2013


Kaspar Müller

Kunsthalle Zürich Production Award (Switzerland)

27.09 - 10.11.2013



Précédent Suivant

Français



© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2013. All Rights Reserved

E-Flux Press release


With forever alone and around the world (2013) Kunsthalle Zürich presents the video work produced within the first Kadist – Kunsthalle Zürich Production Award by Swiss artist Kaspar Müller (born in 1983 in Schaffhausen, lives and works in Zurich and Berlin).



















The first Kadist – Kunsthalle Zürich Production Award enabled the production of Kaspar Müller's video forever alone and around the world (2013). The video is part of his ongoing project devoted to historical urban centers, in particular the old town of the cities of Colmar and Strasbourg. Müller is working on a series of visual studio recordings based on his previous exhibitions as a partly real, partly fictional summary of the project.

The first chapter, Colmar & Strasbourg (Blue-Ray, 42 minutes), was presented during the Manor Kunstpreis solo exhibition at the Museum zu Allerheiligen in Schaffhausen in 2010. In the video a young man with a big hat visits the two cities in the French Alsace, which are hard to distinguish in the film. In a passive-aggressive state of mind, he strolls around the historic sites and follows the flow of visitors. He gets on a tourist boat, which travels the canals with its staged Middle Age townships contrasted by the curved glass facades of the newly built European Parliament. In his 2011 exhibition I was in Trinidad and learned a lot at Galerie Francesca Pia, Kaspar Müller conceived a complex installation including a series of film stills from the video. He coloured the stills in blue and presented them along sculptural works, which literally quoted artefacts from aquariums or ruins from deep under the sea. The remembrance of the earlier presented video seemed to be restaged in an uncanny travel to Atlantis.

Similarly, the video forever alone and around the world will be presented in several chapters: earlier in 2013, it has been screened as a "dummy version" part of the artist's exhibition at the Green Gallery in Milwaukee; from September 27 on, the work is exhibited within the Kadist – Kunsthalle Zürich Production Award and it will be further presented during the artist's comprehensive solo show at the Kunsthalle Bern (19 October–1 December).


Exhibition  27 September - 10 November 2013. Kadist - Kunsthalle Zürich Production Award, Limmatstrasse 270 -8005 Zürich (Switzerland). Tel. +41 (0)44 272 15 15.


Kaspar Müller, forever alone and around the world (still), 2013. Film. Courtesy the artist and Galerie Francesca Pia, Zürich. © Kaspar Müller.



Kaspar Müller, forever alone and around the world (still), 2013. Film. Courtesy the artist and Galerie Francesca Pia, Zürich. © Kaspar Müller.

Archives 2ème semestre 2013

Kaspar Müller

Kunsthalle Zürich Production Award (Suisse)

27.09 - 10.11-2013

Précédent Suivant

English



Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux


Avec toujours seul et autour du monde (2013) Kunsthalle Zürich présente le travail vidéo produite avec la première Kadist - Kunsthalle Zürich Production Award de l'artiste suisse Kaspar Müller (né en 1983 à Schaffhouse, vit et travaille à Zurich et Berlin).


Ce prix a permis la production de la vidéo de Kaspar Müller toujours seul et autour du monde ( 2013). La vidéo fait partie de son projet en cours consacré aux centres urbains historiques, en particulier les centres historiques des villes de Colmar et de Strasbourg. Müller travaille sur une série d' enregistrements visuels en studio basés sur ses précédentes expositions comme un résumé en partie vrai, en partie fictif du projet.













Exposition du 27 septembre au 10 novembre 2013. Kadist - Kunsthalle Zürich Production Award, Limmatstrasse 270 -8005 Zürich (Suisse). Tel. +41 (0)44 272 15 15.



Kaspar Müller, Kunsthalle Zürich Production Award

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2013. Tous droits réservés

Le premier volet, Colmar et Strasbourg (Blue- Ray, 42 minutes), a été présenté lors de l'exposition personnelle du Kunstpreis Manor au musée Allerheiligen à Schaffhouse en 2010. Dans la vidéo, un jeune homme avec un grand chapeau visite les deux villes alsaciennes, qui sont difficiles à distinguer dans le film. Dans un état d’esprit passif-agressif, il se promène autour des sites historiques et suit les flux de visiteurs. Il monte sur un bateau de tourisme, qui parcourt les canaux avec leurs aperçus des cantons du Moyen Age contrastant avec les façades en verre incurvées du Parlement européen nouvellement construit. Dans son édition 2011, J'étais à Trinité- et j'ai beaucoup appris à la Galerie Francesca Pia, Kaspar Müller a conçu une installation complexe, y compris une série de photos de films de la vidéo. Il a coloré les écrans en bleu et les a présentées le long d’œuvres sculpturales, qui ont l’aspect d’artefacts d’aquariums ou de ruines en profondeur sous la mer. La vidéo présentée semblait remonter d’un voyage étrange à Atlantis.

De même, la vidéo toujours seul et dans le monde sera présentée en plusieurs chapitres : plus tôt en 2013, elle a été projetée comme une partie "version factice" de l'exposition de l'artiste à la Green Gallery de Milwaukee. à partir du 27 septembre sur le travail est exposée dans le Kadist - Kunsthalle Zürich Production Award puis sera ensuite présenté dans le cadre d’une exposition monographique complète de l'artiste à la Kunsthalle de Berne (19 octobre – 1er décembre).


Kaspar Müller, forever alone and around the world (still), 2013. Film. Courtesy the artist and Galerie Francesca Pia, Zürich. © Kaspar Müller.



Kaspar Müller, forever alone and around the world (still), 2013. Film. Courtesy the artist and Galerie Francesca Pia, Zürich. © Kaspar Müller.