Henrik Håkansson, A Hundred Pieces of a Tree, KODE, Bergen

Press Release


Henrik Håkansson (b. 1968) has worked with questions relating to our natural environment in large multi-media installations for a greater part of his artistic career. In Bergen, Håkansson is invited to react to the works of the Norwegian 19th century master J.C. Dahl (1788–1857), renowned for his meticulous observations of nature. Dahl’s iconic works are presented in a newly opened exhibition at KODE.














 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Henrik Håkansson, A Hundred Pieces of a Tree

KODE, Bergen (Norge)

08.06 - 30.09.2018


PrécédentSuivant

Français








Deutsch






Exhibition June 08 - September 30, 2018. KODE
KODE Art Museums and Composer Homes, Rasmus Meyers allé 9 - 5015 Bergen (Norge). T. +47 53 00 97 04.





 







 











 





 



























 





 











Henrik Håkansson, A Hundred Pieces of a Tree, KODE, Bergen

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2018. All Rights Reserved

Håkansson often places biological elements such as trees, plants, earth and insects directly in the exhibition rooms, allowing nature itself to play the main role. He has released the song of a Skylark as free records on vinyl, generated projects on wind tunnels for birds, and made paintings out of mosquitoes colliding with the canvas.


Disrupts the image of nature

Håkansson and Dahl both relate to the natural sciences of their time. Dahl discovered the Norwegian landscape artistically, alongside early cartographers and geologists, and included both meteorology and botany as a part of his nature studies. Håkansson makes use of methods that often resemble the systematic nature observations of science disciplines, such as dissection and close-up images, simultaneously emphasizing both order and disorder.


In Håkansson’s ambiguous staging, the sections of nature appear unexpected and disturbing, and disrupts the image of nature we have been taught to appreciate. In this way Håkansson debates our complex relationship to nature, not only in relation to ethics and ecology, but also to the very definition of nature that have been cultivated by art and science in the past centuries.


A memory of a tree

Developed on the concept of “a memory of a tree,” Håkansson’s project for Bergen will emanate into a site-specific installation entitled A Hundred Pieces of a Tree (Norwegian Woods). The main elements represented by a dissected black alder tree (Alnus glutinosa). The fragments reflecting an old fractured memory or a presentation of an archeological excavation, as being the remains of another culture organized within a museum context.


This is the first time Håkansson will have a solo exhibition in Norway. He has a long international career that stretches back to the mid-1990s, with participation in the Sydney Biennial (2014), the Berlin Biennale (2001), twice in the Venice Biennale (1997, 2003), and with solo exhibitions at De Appel in Amsterdam (2003), Lunds konsthall (2012), Kunsthalle Basel (1999) and Moderna Museet (2003), to name a few.











 
















 







Left : J.C. Dahl, Bjerk i storm, 1849. Photo: Dag Fosse. Right : Henrik Håkansson, A Forest Divided, Lunds Konsthall. Photo: Terje Östling.

Left : J.C. Dahl, Bjerk i storm, 1849. Photo: Dag Fosse. Right : Henrik Håkansson, A Forest Divided, Lunds Konsthall. Photo: Terje Östling.

Archives 1er semestre 2018

Henrik Håkansson, A Hundred Pieces of a Tree

KODE, Bergen (Norvège)

08.06 - 30.09.2018


PrécédentSuivant

Communiqué de presse

 

Henrik Håkansson (né en 1968) a travaillé sur des questions relatives à notre environnement naturel dans de grandes installations multimédia durant une grande partie de sa carrière artistique. À Bergen, Håkansson est invité à réagir aux œuvres du maître norvégien du XIXe siècle J.C. Dahl (1788-1857), réputé pour ses observations méticuleuses de la nature. Les œuvres emblématiques de Dahl sont présentées dans une exposition récemment inaugurée au KODE.





























 


















































English








Henrik Håkansson, A Hundred Pieces of a Tree, KODE, Bergen

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2018. Tous droits réservés

Håkansson place souvent des éléments biologiques tels que des arbres, des plantes, de la terre et des insectes directement dans les salles d'exposition, pour permettre à la nature elle-même de jouer le rôle principal. Il a publié le chant d'une alouette dans un disque gratuit sur vinyle, élaboré des projets de tunnels de vent pour les oiseaux, et fait des peintures à partir de moustiques heurtant la toile.


Perturber l'image de la nature

Håkansson et Dahl se rapportent aux sciences naturelles de leur temps. Sur le plan artistique, Dahl a découvert le paysage norvégien, aux côtés des premiers cartographes et géologues, et a utilisé la météorologie et la botanique dans ses études sur la nature. Håkansson utilise des méthodes qui ressemblent souvent aux observations de la nature systématiques des disciplines scientifiques, comme la dissection et les images macro, élaborant un dialogue entre l'ordre et le désordre.


Dans la mise en scène ambiguë de Håkansson, les éléments de la nature apparaissent comme inattendus et dérangeants, et perturbent une image que nous avons appris à apprécier. De cette façon, Håkansson débat de notre relation complexe avec la nature, non seulement en relation avec l'éthique et l'écologie, mais aussi avec la définition même de la nature qui a été cultivée par l'art et la science au cours des siècles passés.


Le souvenir d'un arbre

Développé sur le concept de «la mémoire d'un arbre», le projet de Håkansson pour Bergen va déboucher sur une installation in situ intitulée «Cent morceaux d'un arbre» ​​(Bois norvégiens), ses principaux éléments étant représentés par un aulne noir décortiqué (Alnus glutinosa). Les petites pièces évoquent une ancienne mémoire fragmentée ou une présentation de fouille archéologique, comme étant les restes d'une autre culture implantée dans un contexte muséal.


C'est la première fois que Håkansson propose une exposition personnelle en Norvège. Sa longue carrière internationale remonte au milieu des années 1990, avec une participation à la Biennale de Sydney (2014), la Biennale de Berlin (2001), deux invitations à la Biennale de Venise (1997, 2003) et des expositions personnelles à De Appel à Amsterdam (2003), Lunds konsthall (2012), Kunsthalle Basel (1999) et Moderna Museet (2003), pour n'en nommer que quelques-unes.


Left : J.C. Dahl, Bjerk i storm, 1849. Photo: Dag Fosse. Right : Henrik Håkansson, A Forest Divided, Lunds Konsthall. Photo: Terje Östling.

Left : J.C. Dahl, Bjerk i storm, 1849. Photo: Dag Fosse. Right : Henrik Håkansson, A Forest Divided, Lunds Konsthall. Photo: Terje Östling.

Exposition du 08 juin au 30 septembre 2018. KODE
KODE Art Museums and Composer Homes, Rasmus Meyers allé 9 - 5015 Bergen (Norvège). T. +47 53 00 97 04.