Press Release


ACMI and The Ian Potter Cultural Trust are excited to announce the world premiere of Darling Darling, by Gabriella Hirst, as the first solo art exhibition in the new ACMI.

Darling Darling is a two channel video installation exploring hierarchies of care, romanticism and the enduring colonial gaze upon the Australian landscape and the devastation of Australia’s third largest waterway, the Barka Darling River.




 









































 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Gabriella Hirst, Darling Darling

ACMI, Melbourne (Australia)

11.02 - 30.05.2021



PrécédentSuivant

Français












Deutsch






Exhibition February 11 -May 30, 2021. ACMI, Fed Square – Melbourne (Australia).










 







 











 





 



























 





 











The installation presents two contrasting perspectives of the same body of water: the detailed work by art conservators to restore the 19th century painting, The  flood in the Darling, 1890, by colonial painter WC Piguenit, and the environmental crisis facing the Barka Darling today, as a result of drought, climate change, and severe water mis-management. Presented simultaneously, the sounds from these two contrasting locations leak into one another, blurring the boundaries between these two seemingly distinct treatments of care and implicating the viewer in the contradictions of the Gallery. The film is a timely investigation into the nature of environmental care and neglect, scrutinising the colonial gaze on Country and the relationship between pictorial framing and ecological destruction.  Darling Darling  was filmed at various sites on Barkindji Country, under the guidance of Barkindji Elder Uncle Badger Bates, and on the sovereign lands of the Gadigal at the Art Gallery of NSW (AGNSW).

Darling  Darling  is the result of Australia's most significant commission for moving image art, the  Ian Potter Moving Image Commission (IPMIC),  an initiative of the  Ian Potter Cultural Trust  and ACMI. Hirst's 2020 commission follows previous recipients who include Angelica Mesiti, (2013) and Daniel Crooks (2016).

About Gabriella Hirst
Gabriella Hirst (she/her) is an artist. She was born and grew up on Cammeraygal land (Australia) and is currently living between Berlin and London. She works primarily with moving image, performance, and with the garden as a site of critique and care. Gabriella’s practice and research explores connections between various manifestations of capture and control—spanning plant taxonomies, landscape painting, art conservation and nuclear history.















Gabriella Hirst, Darling Darling, ACMI, Melbourne

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2021. All Rights Reserved

Gabriella Hirst,  Darling Darling  (still), 2020





Gabriella Hirst,  Darling Darling  (still), 2020

Expositions en cours

Gabriella Hirst, Darling Darling

ACMI, Melbourne (Australie)

11.02 - 30.05.2021

PrécédentSuivant

Communiqué de presse


ACMI et le Ian Potter Cultural Trust annoncent la première mondiale de Darling Darling, de Gabriella Hirst, en tant que première exposition d'art personnelle d’un.e artiste dans le nouvel ACMI.

Darling Darling est une installation vidéo à deux canaux explorant les hiérarchies de soins, le romantisme et le regard colonial permanent sur le paysage australien et la dévastation de la troisième plus grande voie navigable d'Australie, la rivière Barka Darling.














































 


















































English










Exposition du 11 février au 30 mai 2021. ACMI, Fed Square – Melbourne (Australie). Ouverture lundi et mardi de 12h à 17h, du mercredi au vendredi de 12h à 19h, samedi de 11h à 19h, dimanche de 11h à 18h.














 







 











 





 



























 





 











L'installation présente deux perspectives contrastées d'un même plan d'eau: le travail détaillé des restaurateurs d'art pour restaurer la peinture du XIXe siècle, L'inondation dans le Darling (1890), du peintre colonial WC Piguenit, et la crise environnementale que traverse le Barka Darling aujourd'hui, en raison de la sécheresse, du changement climatique et d'une grave mauvaise gestion de l'eau. Présentés simultanément, les approches de ces deux lieux contrastés se fuient l'un dans l'autre, brouillant les frontières entre ces deux attentions apparemment distinctes et impliquant le spectateur dans les contradictions de la Galerie. Le film est une enquête opportune sur la nature de la protection et de la négligence de l'environnement, scrutant le regard colonial du pays et la relation entre le cadrage pictural et la destruction écologique. Darling Darling a été filmé dans divers sites du pays de Barkindji, sous la direction de Barkindji Elder Oncle Badger Bates, et sur les terres souveraines des Gadigal à la Art Gallery of NSW (AGNSW).

Darling Darling est le résultat de la plus importante commission australienne pour l'art de l'image en mouvement, la Ian Potter Moving Image Commission (IPMIC), une initiative du Ian Potter Cultural Trust et de l'ACMI. La commission 2020 de Hirst suit les récipiendaires précédents, Angelica Mesiti, (2013) et Daniel Crooks (2016).


A propos de Gabriella Hirst
Gabriella Hirst est née et a grandi sur les terres du Cammeraygal (Australie) et vit actuellement entre Berlin et Londres. Elle travaille principalement avec l'image en mouvement, la performance et le jardin comme site de critique et d'attention. La pratique et la recherche de Gabriella Hirst explorent les liens entre diverses manifestations de capture et de contrôle - couvrant les taxonomies végétales, la peinture de paysage, la conservation de l’art et l’histoire nucléaire.

























Gabriella Hirst,  Darling Darling  (still), 2020





Gabriella Hirst,  Darling Darling  (still), 2020
Gabriella Hirst, Darling Darling, ACMI, Melbourne

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2021. Tous droits réservés