Press Release


This spring, Nottingham Contemporary presents two ambitious exhibitions: FELT TIP by Elizabeth Price, and the first major UK solo show of Daniel Steegmann Mangrané.




























 




















 





























International exhibitions

International ongoing exhibitions


Elizabeth Price / Daniel Steegmann Mangrané
Nottingham Contemporary, Nottingham (United Kingdom)
16.02 - 06.05.2019



PrécédentSuivant

Français









Deutsch






Elizabeth Price / Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Nottingham Contemporary

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2019. All Rights Reserved

Price’s exhibition is her most ambitious to date. At its core are two new commissioned video installations: KOHL and FELT TIP (both 2018). The Turner Prize-winning British artist combines archival materials, live-action footage, motion graphics and CGI, using rhythmic edits of music and image. Her richly layered narratives explore social histories and the shifting terrain of analogue and digital cultures.

KOHL is a synchronised four-channel video, in which a chorus describes ghostly presences that are said to be emerging from abandoned mines in the north of England. The liquid flowing between subterranean locations is presented as the inky shadow of coal, freighted with collective memories, and symbolising the dense body of materials generated by the mining industry. Also exploring different eras of industry, FELT TIP is a six-metre-high, two-channel projection that uses the simple necktie as a motif for social and technological change within the workplace. Price uses tie fabric designs from the late 1970s as the foundation for a series of departures to tell a story of dramatic social change. The exhibition also includes a series of pinhole photographs, each four metres high, made by manipulating images sourced from fashion magazines to leave only a floating garment, hovering in a dream-like haze.

Daniel Steegmann Mangrané presents a range of new and existing works. Through a new immersive installation, architectural interventions, a 16mm film and a virtual reality work, the Rio-based Catalan artist conveys aspects of the Mata Atlântica, a biodiverse and geopolitically dense rainforest stretching along the Atlantic coast of Brazil. Through employing diverse mediums and technologies, Steegmann Mangrané provides a study into how environments can be portrayed, and in doing so, highlights the impossibilities of representation.

The exhibition presents two new commissions, including a sculptural installation filling the entirety of one gallery, which brings epiphytes, or air plants, from the rainforest into the space. Another new site-specific installation modifies the gallery’s ceiling to imitate the glints of light penetrating the forest canopy. The exhibition features existing work, including the video work 16mm (2009–11), in which a camera tracks into the depths of the rainforest at the same pace as the footage roll, linking the film and the rainforest both mechanically and conceptually. Phantom (kingdom of all the animals and all the beasts is my name) (2015) offers an immersive experience of the Mata Atlântica, through a VR experience in the gallery, where visitors can explore the rendered environment through their invisible body. Looking to indigenous cultures and the radical anthropology of the Brazilian scholar Eduardo Viveiros de Castro, Steegmann Mangrané is interested in collapsing the distinction between nature and culture.










[1] Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, A Transparent Leaf Instead of the Mouth, 2016-17. Courtesy the artist and Esther Schipper, Berlin. Photo: © Andrea Rossetti.
[2] Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Phantom (kingdom of all the animals and all the beasts is my name), 2014-2015. Courtesy the artist and Esther Schipper, Berlin. Photos: © Andrea Rossetti.
[3] Elizabeth Price, KOHL (still), 2018. Courtesy of the artist. [4] Elizabeth Price, FELT TIP (still), 2018. Commissioned by the Walker Art Center, Film and Video Umbrella and Nottingham Contemporary, with support from Arts Council England.

Exhibition February 16 - May 05, 2019. Nottingham Contemporary, Weekday Cross - Nottingham NG1 2GB (United Kingdom). T +44 115 948 9750. Hours : Tuesday to Saturday 10am–6pm - Sunday 11am–5pm.

Expositions à venir

Elizabeth Price / Daniel Steegmann Mangrané
Nottingham Contemporary, Nottingham (Royaume Uni)
16.02 - 06.05.2019

PrécédentSuivant

Communiqué de presse

 

Ce printemps, Nottingham Contemporary présente deux expositions ambitieuses: FELT TIP d'Elizabeth Price et la première exposition personnelle majeure de Daniel Steegmann Mangrané au Royaume-Uni.








































 


















































English








Elizabeth Price / Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Nottingham Contemporary

L’exposition d’Elizabeth Price est sa plus ambitieuse à ce jour. Deux nouvelles installations vidéo mises en oeuvre, KOHL et FELT TIP (2018), sont au cœur de son activité. L'artiste britannique lauréat du prix Turner associe des documents d'archives, des séquences d'action réelle, des images animées et des images de synthèse, en utilisant des montages rythmiques de musique et d'images. Ses récits stratifiés explorent les histoires sociales et le champ évolutif des cultures analogiques et numériques.


KOHL est une vidéo synchronisée sur quatre canaux, dans laquelle un choeur évoque des présences fantomatiques qui émergeraient de mines abandonnées dans le nord de l'Angleterre. Le liquide qui coule entre les sites souterrains est présenté comme l’ombre encrée du charbon, chargée de mémoires collectives et symbolisant la masse dense de matériaux générés par l’industrie minière. FELT TIP, une exploration de deux mètres de haut sur deux écrans, utilise également la simple cravate comme motif de changement social et technologique sur le lieu de travail. Price utilise des motifs de cravate depuis la fin des années 1970 pour constituer une série racontant une histoire de changement social spectaculaire. L'exposition intègre également une série de photographies de sténopés de quatre mètres de haut, réalisées en manipulant des images provenant de magazines de mode pour ne laisser qu'un vêtement flottant, planant dans une brume onirique.


Daniel Steegmann Mangrané présente une gamme d'œuvres nouvelles et existantes. À travers une nouvelle installation immersive, des interventions architecturales, un film en 16 mm et une œuvre de réalité virtuelle, l’artiste catalan installé à Rio évoque certains aspects de la Mata Atlântica, une forêt tropicale humide propice à la biodiversité et géopolitiquement dense qui s'étend le long de la côte atlantique du Brésil. Steegmann Mangrané utilise différents médiums et technologies pour étudier comment les environnements peuvent être évoqués et, ce faisant, met en évidence leurs impossibilités de représentation.


L'exposition présente deux nouvelles commandes, telle une installation sculpturale investissant l'intégralité d'une galerie, qui transfère des épiphytes - ou plantes aériennes - de la forêt tropicale à l'espace. Une autre nouvelle installation in situ modifie le plafond de la galerie pour imiter les reflets de lumière pénétrant dans le couvert forestier. L'exposition présente également des œuvres existantes, comme l’oeuvre vidéo 16mm (2009-2011), où une caméra suit les profondeurs de la forêt tropicale au même rythme que la pellicule, reliant le film et la forêt tropicale de manière mécanique et conceptuelle. Phantom (kingdom of all the animals and all the beasts is my name) (2015) propose une expérience immersive dans la Mata Atlântica, à travers une expérience de réalité virtuelle dans la galerie, où les visiteurs peuvent explorer l'environnement rendu à travers leur corps invisible. Steegmann Mangrané s'intéresse aux cultures autochtones et à l'anthropologie radicale de l'érudit brésilien Eduardo Viveiros de Castro. Il s'efforce de supprimer la distinction entre nature et culture.












© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2019. Tous droits réservés

[1] Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, A Transparent Leaf Instead of the Mouth, 2016-17. Courtesy the artist and Esther Schipper, Berlin. Photo: © Andrea Rossetti.
[2] Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Phantom (kingdom of all the animals and all the beasts is my name), 2014-2015. Courtesy the artist and Esther Schipper, Berlin. Photos: © Andrea Rossetti.
[3] Elizabeth Price, KOHL (still), 2018. Courtesy of the artist. [4] Elizabeth Price, FELT TIP (still), 2018. Commissioned by the Walker Art Center, Film and Video Umbrella and Nottingham Contemporary, with support from Arts Council England.

Exposition du 16 février au 5 mai 05, 2019. Nottingham Contemporary, Weekday Cross - Nottingham NG1 2GB (Royaume Uni). T +44 115 948 9750. Ouverture du mardi au samedi de 10h à 18h, le dimanche de 11h à 17h.