International exhibitions

International Archives 1st half of 2014


Cildo Meireles, Installations

Pirelli HangarBicocca, Milan (Italy)

27.03 - 20.07.2014

Précédent Suivant

Français




E-Flux Press release


From 27 March to 20 July, Pirelli HangarBicocca presents Cildo Meireles. Installations, the first exhibition in Italy devoted to one of the most important artists on the international scene. Curated by Vicente Todolí, the solo exhibition includes 12 works made from 1970 to the present day, in which the public will be involved both physically and emotionally.

















 











"The exhibition at HangarBicocca," says Vicente Todolí, "will give an in-depth understanding of the physical, sensory and poetic aspects of Cildo Meireles's work, which brings into question and often overturn our preconceived ideas and platitudes. His art creates perceptual and conceptual challenges through the mechanisms of juxtaposition, accumulation and metaphor, in order to attain complete poetic subversion. As though into a spider's web, the artist uses seduction to entice the visitor into the installations. And with great ironic and critical dexterity, he gives us the chance to experience new thoughts and forms of behaviour."

The visit to Pirelli HangarBicocca winds its way through twelve works, in the form of massive installations or sculptures on a microscopic scale, which involve every aspect of the visitor's perceptions. Partly co-produced with the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía (Madrid, Spain) and the Museu de Arte Contemporânea de Serralves (Porto, Portugal), the solo exhibition of works by Cildo Meireles is a unique opportunity to venture into the lyrical vision of this extraordinary connoisseur of artistic languages, giving us a view of a very diverse, always unpredictable world.

Cildo Meireles. Installations
is part of the programme of exhibitions curated by Vicente Todolí together with Andrea Lissoni. The Pirelli HangarBicocca artistic calendar will continue with Papagaio (12 June–26 October; opening: 11 June, 7pm) a new exhibition by João Maria Gusmão & Pedro Paiva. The retrospective, curated by Vicente Todolí, includes 36 films, of which ten are new productions, and three Camera Obscura installations, including one never seen before. The show will also display a new 43-minute film, an absolute exception in the production of the artists, who have so far made only short films. These new works which have been made especially for Pirelli HangarBicocca clearly illustrate the huge effort that the Milan-based institution is carrying out to promote contemporary art.



Cildo Meireles, Installations, Pirelli HangarBicocca, Milan

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2014. All Rights Reserved

Exhibition March 27 - July 20 2014. Pirelli HangarBicocca, Via Chiese 2- Milan (Italy). Tel.: +39 (0)2 66 11 15 73. Hours: Thursday-Sunday 11am-11pm. Free admission.











Cildo Meireles, Amerikkka, 1991–2013. Installation view at Fondazione HangarBicocca, 2014. Photo: Agostino Osio. Courtesy Fondazione HangarBicocca, Milan; Cildo Meireles.

Archives 1er semestre 2014

Cildo Meireles, Installations

Pirelli HangarBicocca, Milan (Italie)

27.03 - 20.07.2014

Précédent Suivant

English



Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux


Du 27 mars au 20 juillet Pirelli HangarBicocca présente Cildo Meireles. Installations, la première exposition en Italie consacrées à l'un des artistes les plus importants de la scène internationale. Organisée par Vicente Todolí, cette exposition personnelle présente 12 œuvres réalisées de 1970 à nos jours, qui impliquent le public à la fois physiquement et émotionnellement.














Cildo Meireles, Installations, Pirelli HangarBiccoca, Milan

Exposition du 27 mars au 4 mai 2014. Pirelli HangarBicocca, Via Chiese 2 – Milan (Italie). Tél. : +39 02 66 11 1573. Ouverture du jeudi au dimanche de 11h à 23h. Entrée Libre.












Selon Vicente Todolí, « l'exposition à HangarBicocca offrira une compréhension approfondie des aspects physiques, sensoriels et poétiques de l'œuvre de Cildo Meireles, qui remet en question et renverse souvent nos idées et nos platitudes préconçues. Son art crée des défis perceptifs et conceptuels à travers les mécanismes de la juxtaposition, de l'accumulation et de la métaphore, de manière à atteindre une subversion poétique absolue. Comme dans une toile d'araignée, l'artiste utilise la séduction pour attirer le visiteur dans ses installations, et avec une grande dextérité ironique et critique, il nous donne la chance de vivre de nouveaux comportements et modes de pensée. »

La visite de Pirelli HangarBicocca serpente à travers douze œuvres, sous la forme d' installations massives ou de sculptures à échelle microscopique, qui impliquent tous les aspects de la perception du visiteur. En partie co-produit avec le Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía (Madrid, Espagne) et le Museu de Arte Contemporanea de Serralves (Porto, Portugal), l'exposition monographique des œuvres de Cildo Meireles est une occasion unique de se projeter dans la vision lyrique de ce praticien extraordinaire de langages artistiques, nous donnant des aperçus du monde très divers, toujours imprévisibles.

Cildo Meireles. Installations s'intègre au programme d'expositions organisé par Vicente Todolí avec Andrea Lissoni. Le calendrier artistique de Pirelli HangarBicocca se poursuivra avec Papagaio (12 juin - 26 octobre ) une nouvelle exposition de João Maria Gusmão et Pedro Paiva. La rétrospective, organisée par Vicente Todolí, rassemble 36 films, dont dix nouvelles productions et trois installations de Camera Obscura, jusque là inédites. L'exposition présentera également un nouveau film de 43 minutes une exception absolue dans la production des artistes, qui n'ont auparavant réalisé que des courts métrages. Ces nouvelles œuvres qui ont été spécialement produites pour Pirelli HangarBicocca illustrent clairement l'énorme effort que l'institution installée à Milan met en place pour promouvoir l'art contemporain.



© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2014. Tous droits réservés

Cildo Meireles, Amerikkka, 1991–2013. Installation view at Fondazione HangarBicocca, 2014. Photo: Agostino Osio. Courtesy Fondazione HangarBicocca, Milan; Cildo Meireles.