Press Release


The Renaissance Society presents the first US solo exhibition by London-based artist Ben Rivers. Urth features a newly commissioned film presented alongside two recent works.
Explorations of community, landscape, freedom, and flux are at the center of Rivers's practice. Working in both feature-length and short formats, the artist draws on elements of documentary and fiction, experimental film and mainstream cinema.




















 





























International exhibitions

International Archives 2nd half of 2016


Ben Rivers, Urth

The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (USA)

10.09 - 06.11.2016

PrécédentSuivant

Français




Deutsch






Ben Rivers, Urth, The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2016. All Rights Reserved

Urth takes its title from the Old Norse word suggesting the twisted threads of fate, as cited by philosopher Timothy Morton in his recent book, Dark Ecology. The films in the exhibition share an interest in utopias—in particular, the tension between a yearning for an idealized world and the impossibility of such a place. For Rivers, utopias are necessarily hermetic and subjective spaces, conditions that are reflected in the settings of these works.

For this exhibition, the Renaissance Society commissioned Rivers to produce a new film, also titled
Urth, which he filmed on location at Arizona's Biosphere 2. A cinematic meditation on ambitious experiments, artificial environments, and visions of the future, this new work imagines a scientist living alone inside an experimental ecosystem. In a voice-over written by author Mark von Schlegell, the anonymous scientist records her final days and hours in the sealed environment.

Two previous films by Rivers similarly explore the relationship between humans and the natural and constructed world.
Slow Action (2010) offers an imagined study of island biogeography across four locations, considering how these self-contained sites have and might continue to evolve. Its quasi-ethnographic narrative, also written by von Schlegell, imagines future societies grappling with rising seas and soon-to-be-lost ecologies. Things (2014) is a film collage divided into four "seasons," juxtaposing found imagery, objects, and sounds with domestic and nature scenes that are at once intimate and unsettling. It is presented alongside a series of drawings and photographs.

Ways of Worldmaking, the first monograph on Rivers's work, will be published in autumn 2016 by Kunstverein in Hamburg, Camden Arts Centre, Triennale di Milano, and the Renaissance Society. The publication includes new essays by Melissa Gronlund, Ed Halter, and Andrea Picard alongside extensive images from Rivers's films and texts by Robert Pinget, Renee Gladman, and Henri Michaux, among others.

Curated by Solveig Øvstebø.

















 







Ben Rivers, Urth, 2016. Production still. Courtesy of the artist and Kate MacGarry, London



Exhibition 10 September - 6 November 2016. The Renaissance Society at The University of Chicago, Cobb Hall, 4th Floor , 5811 S. Ellis Ave - Chicago, Illinois 60637 (USA ). Hours: Tuesday–Friday 10am–5pm, Saturday–Sunday 12–5pm



.






 





 



























 





 











Ben Rivers, Urth, 2016. Production still. Courtesy of the artist and Kate MacGarry, London

Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux

 

La Renaissance Society présente la première exposition personnelle aux Etats-Unis de l'artiste Ben Rivers, vivant et travaillant à Londres. Urth présente un nouveau film commandé, projeté aux côtés de deux œuvres récentes.
Les explorations de la communauté, du paysage, de la liberté et des flux sont au centre de la pratique de Rivers. Travaillant dans les deux formats long et court-métrage, l'artiste oeuvre sur des éléments du documentaire et de la fiction, du film expérimental et du cinéma grand public.



 


















































Archives 2ème semestre 2016

Ben Rivers, Urth

The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (USA)

10.09 - 06.11.2016

PrécédentSuivant

English





Urth tire son titre du vieux mot norrois évoquant les fils torsadés du sort, tels que cités par le philosophe Timothy Morton dans son livre récent, Dark Ecology. Les films de l'exposition partagent un intérêt pour les utopies - en particulier, la tension entre une aspiration à un monde idéalisé et l'impossibilité d'un tel lieu. Pour Rivers, les utopies sont nécessairement des espaces hermétiques et subjectifs, conditions qui sont reflétées dans les configurations de ces œuvres.

Pour cette exposition, la Renaissance Society a commandé à Rivers la production d’un nouveau film, également intitulé Urth, qu’il a tourné à la Biosphère 2 en Arizona. Méditation cinématographique sur des expériences ambitieuses, des environnements artificiels et des visions de l'avenir, cette nouvelle œuvre imagine un scientifique vivant seul dans un écosystème expérimental. Dans une voix-off écrite par l'auteur Mark von Schlegell, le scientifique anonyme enregistre ses derniers jours et heures dans l'environnement clos.

Deux films précédents de Rivers explorent de manière similaire la relation entre les humains et le monde naturel et construit.
Slow Action (2010) propose une étude imaginaire de biogéographie insulaire sur quatre sites, tenant compte de la façon dont ces sites autonomes ont et pourraient continuer à évoluer. Le récit quasi-ethnographique, également écrit par von Schlegell, imagine les sociétés futures aux prises avec la hausse du niveau des mers et aux écosystèmes en voie de disparition. Things (2014) est un collage de film divisé en quatre «saisons», juxtaposant des images et des objets trouvés et des sons avec des scènes domestiques et du monde naturel qui sont à la fois intimes et troublantes. Il est présenté à côté d'une série de dessins et de photographies.

La première monographie sur le travail de Rivers, Ways of Worldmaking, sera publiée à l'automne 2016 par Kunstverein à Hambourg, Camden Arts Centre, Triennale di Milano, et la Renaissance Society. L’ouvrage comprend de nouveaux essais de Melissa Gronlund, Ed Halter et Andrea Picard aux côtés de nombreuses images de films et de textes de Rivers par Robert Pinget, Renee Gladman et Henri Michaux, entre autres.

Commissaire d’exposition : Solveig Øvstebø.








Exposition du 10 septembre au 6 novembre 2016. The Renaissance Society at The University of Chicago, Cobb Hall, 4th Floor , 5811 S. Ellis Ave - Chicago, Illinois 60637 (USA ). Ouverture du mardi au vendredi de 10h à 17h, samedi et dimanche de 12hà 17h.







 





 



























 





 











Ben Rivers, Urth, The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2016. Tous droits réservés

Ben Rivers, Urth, 2016. Production still. Courtesy of the artist and Kate MacGarry, London



Ben Rivers, Urth, 2016. Production still. Courtesy of the artist and Kate MacGarry, London
ArtCatalyse Expositions internationales