International exhibitions

International Archives 2nd half of 2014


autoimmune

Vohn Gallery, New York (USA)

22.10 - 18.11.2014

Précédent Suivant

Français




Press release


Modern Man is born in a hospital and dies in a hospital, so he should make his home like a clinic.” –Robert Musil


Diagnosis
Our glittering immunological centers harbor disturbances and pathologies at the heart of their well-insulated dreams. Today’s “clinics” look like gated communities and high-rises, a global nervous system injected with protective capital disproportionately dictating who has good health, shelter, and rights. We have seen how this immunity from the lower depths can go terribly wrong: in the autoimmune disorders of market greed and competition, and in the autoimmune reactions of a planet rebelling against those who beef up on self-preservation. Immunities from poverty and subordinate nature have always been bound together by keeping the clinics clean from pathogens. What is new today is the scale. Since economic and environmental autoimmune disorders are increasingly backfiring on everyone, drives for immunity and containment are no longer an option.















 











autoimmune, Vohn Gallery, New York

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2014. All Rights Reserved

Exhibition October 22, - November 18, 2014. Vohn Gallery, 45 Lispenard Street, Ground Floor, Unit 1W C/O Indira Cesarine – New York, NY 10013 (USA). Opening hours: 10am - 6pm Tues – Fri 12pm - 5pm. Saturdays




 











Method
This autoimmune complex is inherited everywhere. It is a vast complicity network of ecological entanglement, financial violence, and psycho-social habits that constantly malfunction against their users. Depending on your position and promotion inside this network, you hold varying levels of agency and contamination, from which two possible paths arise: cynical enjoyment and resignation in the face of a complicity that is inevitably self-serving and harmful, or bending complicity back on itself by using its connections and power for non-violence instead. Our motto should be not only know thyself, but also know your complicity.


Practice
The artistic practices of Judith Fegerl, Mathias Kessler, and Martin Roth can be situated within these concerns. Kessler’s explorations bear witness to sites of over-production reaching terminal states. Through formal complexity and rigor in various media, he underscores the irreversibility of the cultural, political, and industrial impositions made on the environment—not as a call for romantic escape or facile resentment, but as a critical awareness of forever being entangled with what we call nature. His recent body of work results from an artist residency in the Florida Everglades. Fegerl’s installations, drawings, and sculptures reveal the fissures, cracks, and connectivity of our bodies in relation to the casings and technologies we use for insulation and conduction. Her favored materials—including latex, copper, and electricity—all function in both organic and synthetic processes, both inside and outside the structures that sustain life and culture. Martin Roth’s work is attentive to the micro eco-systems constantly at work around us. In some instances, he incorporates the growth processes of plant life in his installations, while in others, his practice opens a real space for collaborative potential between human and nonhuman animals, which thoughtfully maintains ethical care, responsibility, and inter-species thriving.

Participating artists: Judith Fegerl (Austria), Mathias Kessler (Austria/US), Martin Roth (Austria/US)




Mathias Kessler, Ilulissat 011 3, Greenland, 2007. Digital C-print; edition of 6: (2) 100 x 202 cm, (2) 70 x 140 cm, (2) 50 x 100 cm; Diasec, face in mount on 3 mm non-reflective gallery Plexi, Dibond backing and back brace.

Mathias Kessler, Ilulissat 011 3, Greenland, 2007. Digital C-print; edition of 6: (2) 100 x 202 cm, (2) 70 x 140 cm, (2) 50 x 100 cm; Diasec, face in mount on 3 mm non-reflective gallery Plexi, Dibond backing and back brace.

Archives 2ème semestre 2014

autoimmune

Vohn Gallery, New York (USA)

22.10 - 18.11.2014

Précédent Suivant

English



Communiqué de presse


« L’homme moderne est né dans un hôpital et meurt dans un hôpital, il devrait donc construire sa maison comme une clinique ». Robert Musil


Diagnostic

Nos centres immunologiques scintillants abritent des troubles et pathologies au cœur de leurs rêves bien isolés. Les cliniques d'aujourd'hui ressemblent à des communautés fermées et à des gratte-ciel, un système nerveux global injecté avec un capital de protection disproportionnée dictant qui a une bonne santé, le logement et les droits. Nous avons vu comment cette immunité des profondeurs peut aller terriblement mal : dans les maladies auto-immunes de la cupidité du marché et de la concurrence, et dans les réactions auto-immunes de la planète se rebellant contre ceux qui renforcent l'auto-préservation. Les immunités de la pauvreté et de la nature subordonnée ont toujours été liées ensemble en rendant les cliniques propres des agents pathogènes. Ce qui est nouveau aujourd'hui est l'échelle. Depuis que les troubles auto-immunes économiques et environnementaux se retournent de plus en plus contre tout le monde, les guides pour l'immunité et le confinement ne sont plus une option.


.












© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2014. Tous droits réservés

autoimmune, Vohn Gallery, New York

Exposition du 22 octobre au 18 novembre 2014. Vohn Gallery, 45 Lispenard Street, Ground Floor, Unit 1W C/O Indira Cesarine – New York, NY 10013 (USA). Ouverture du mardi au vendredi de 10h à 18h, le samedi de 12h à 17h.



 











Mathias Kessler, Ilulissat 011 3, Greenland, 2007. Digital C-print; edition of 6: (2) 100 x 202 cm, (2) 70 x 140 cm, (2) 50 x 100 cm; Diasec, face in mount on 3 mm non-reflective gallery Plexi, Dibond backing and back brace.

Mathias Kessler, Ilulissat 011 3, Greenland, 2007. Digital C-print; edition of 6: (2) 100 x 202 cm, (2) 70 x 140 cm, (2) 50 x 100 cm; Diasec, face in mount on 3 mm non-reflective gallery Plexi, Dibond backing and back brace.


Méthode
Ce complexe auto-immune est partout présent. Il existe un vaste réseau de complicité d'empêtrement écologique, de violence financière, et d’habitudes psycho-sociales qui dysfonctionnement constamment contre leurs utilisateurs. En fonction de votre position et de votre promotion à l'intérieur de ce réseau, vous détenez des niveaux de contamination variés et, à partir desquels deux voies sont possibles : le plaisir cynique et la résignation face à une complicité qui est inévitablement égoïste et dangereuse, ou une complicité en retour sur elle-même en utilisant ses connexions et en la nourrissant de non-violence à la place. Notre devise ne devrait être pas uniquement « connais-toi toi-même » , mais aussi « connais ta complicité ».

Pratique
Les pratiques artistiques de Judith Fegerl, Mathias Kessler et Martin Roth peuvent être situées à l'intérieur de ces préoccupations. Les explorations de Kessler témoignent que les sites de surproduction atteignent des états limites. Avec une complexité formelle et une rigueur dans différents médias, il souligne l'irréversibilité des contraintes culturelles, politiques et industrielles supportées par l'environnement, non pas comme un appel à une escapade romantique ou un ressentiment facile, mais comme une conscience critique de toujours être relié à ce que nous appelons la nature. Ses œuvres les plus récentes sont issues d'une résidence d'artiste dans les Everglades en Floride. Les installations, dessins et sculptures de Fegerl révèlent les fissures, les failles et la connectivité de nos organismes par rapport à des boîtiers et des technologies que nous utilisons pour l'isolation et la conduction. Ses matériaux favoris, comme le latex, le cuivre et l'électricité fonctionnent tous avec les deux processus organiques et synthétiques, tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur des structures qui maintiennent la vie et la culture. Le travail de Martin Roth est à l'écoute des micro écosystèmes constamment à l'œuvre autour de nous. Dans certains cas, il intègre les processus de croissance de plantes vivantes dans ses installations, tandis que dans d'autres, sa pratique ouvre un véritable espace à un potentiel de collaboration entre les animaux humains et non humains, qui préserve soigneusement les soins éthiques, la responsabilité, et la prospérité inter-espèces.


Les artistes : Judith Fegerl (Austria), Mathias Kessler (Austria/US), Martin Roth (Austria/US)