© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2012. All Rights Reserved

International exhibitions Resonance, Goethe-Institut, New York

International 2012 Archives


Resonance
Goethe-Institut, New York (USA)
26.10 - 16.12.2012



Précédent Suivant

Français


E-Flux Press release


Resonance at the Goethe-Institut Wyoming Building joins artwork and contributions by Agency, Diedrich Diederichsen, Faivovich & Goldberg, Anselm Franke, Christoph Keller, and weareQQ. This exhibition and discursive program, organized by curatorial office Rivet, engages with object-oriented thinking and probes a range of temporalities through a variety of contributions that give different formats of experience.


Taking its key term from philosopher Levi Bryant, Resonance ponders the specificities of change within systems and entities. The project suggests viewers and participants to pause and consider contemporary questions about interaction and autonomy, rights, and the relation between objects and environments. In its entirety, Resonance shows how understandings of community, ideology, law, and even the division between nature and culture become perturbed once the mark of distinction between subjects and objects is suspended.


For the exhibition, Agency brings in Thing 000789 (Prince Charming) to focus on the legal category of “fixation” that aims to prevent resonance. Faivovich & Goldberg’s work manifests how international art systems, local politics, indigenous rights, and questions about scientific procedures all of a sudden come to resonate with each other. This contribution continues and comments upon the artists’ recent dOCUMENTA (13) project. weareQQ charts a reflexive and dynamic relation between film, environment, and event to think about community in terms of affect and ephemerality.

The exhibition is accompanied by an active program: Agency hosts an assembly with local concerned people on Sunday, October 28; Diedrich Diederichsen will present a talk on Thursday, November 1; and Christoph Keller holds a lecture-performance on Tuesday, December 4. On Saturday, October 27, McNally Jackson Books hosts the launch of Faivovich & Goldberg’s latest volume from The Campo del Cielo Meteorites series published by dOCUMENTA (13). For the closing of the exhibition, Anselm Frankewill contribute a written response to Resonance, which will be published at www.rivet-rivet.net. For detailed program information, visit www.goethe.de/newyork.




Exhibition November 3, 2012 - February, 2013. Sachsenhausen river bank opposite Portikus (Germany).


Faivovich & Goldberg, Retrato del meteorito El Chaco, de Campo del Cielo, 2006


Faivovich & Goldberg, Retrato del meteorito El Chaco, de Campo del Cielo, 2006

Résonance, Goethe-Institut, New York

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2012. Tous droits réservés

Résonance
Goethe-Institut, New York (USA)

26.10 - 16.12.2012




Précédent Suivant

English


Traduction du communiqué de presse e-flux


L'exposition Résonance au Goethe-Institut de New York rassemble des œuvres d'art et des contributions de Agency, Diedrich Diederichsen, Faivovich & Goldberg, Anselm Franke, Christoph Keller et weareQQ. Ce programme d'expositions et de rencontres, organisé par l'agence curatoriale Rivet, traite du thème de l'objet orienté et sonde un éventail de temporalités à travers des contributions proposant différents formats d'expérience.

Empruntant son terme clé au philosophe Levi Bryant, Résonance s'interroge sur les spécificités du changement au sein des systèmes et des entités. Le projet propose aux visiteurs et aux participants de prendre du recul et d'examiner des questions contemporaines concernant l'interaction et l'autonomie, les droits et les relations entre objets et environnements. Dans son ensemble, l'exposition montre comment la compréhension de la communauté, de l'idéologie, du droit, et même de la différence entre nature et culture est perturbée lorsque la marque de distinction entre sujets et objets est suspendue.

Pour l'exposition, l'Agence présente Thing 000789 (Prince Charmant) qui traite de la catégorie légale de «détermination» en prévention de la résonance. L'oeuvre de Faivovich & Goldberg explique comment le marché international de l'art, la politique locale, les droits indigènes et des questions concernant les procédures scientifiques entrent soudain en résonance les uns avec les autres. Cette contribution se poursuit par des commentaires sur les artistes étant intervenus dans la manifestation récente dOCUMENTA (13). weareQQ établit une relation réflexive et dynamique entre le film, l'environnement et l'événement pour considérer la collectivité en termes d'affectif et de ponctuel.

L'exposition s'accompagne d'une dense programmation : Agency organise une réunion avec les personnalités locales concernées le dimanche 28 octobre 28, Diedrich Diederichsen fera une conférence le jeudi 1er novembre, et Christoph Keller une lecture-performance le mardi 4 décembre. Le samedi 27 octobre 27, McNally Jackson Books présentera le lancement du dernier volume Faivovich & Goldberg de la série Campo Cielo del Météorites publié par la Documenta (13). Pour la clôture de l'exposition, Anselm Franke contribuera à une réponse écrite à Résonance, qui sera publiée sur le site www.rivet-rivet.net. Pour des renseignements détaillés, visiter le site www.goethe.de /newyork.




Exposition du 26 octobre au 16 décembre 2012. Goethe-Institut Wyoming Building, 5 East 3rd Street – New York, NY 10003. Tél. : 212 439 87 00. Ouverture du mercredi au dimanche de 14h à 19h.




Faivovich & Goldberg, Retrato del meteorito El Chaco, de Campo del Cielo, 2006


Faivovich & Goldberg, Retrato del meteorito El Chaco, de Campo del Cielo, 2006

Archives 2ème semestre 2012