International exhibitions

International Archives 2nd half of 2014


Melanie Smith, Fordlandia

Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam (The Netherlands)

11.10.2014 - 11.01.2015

Précédent Suivant

Français




E-Flux Press release


Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen presents Melanie Smith’s most recent video work Fordlandia as part of her first solo exhibition in the Netherlands. The film is set in the Brazilian Amazon, where Henry Ford attempted to establish a rubber plantation in 1928. In this work Smith explores the tension between nature and industrial development. The exhibition also includes collections of objects, paintings, photographs, videos and collages made since 1994.













 











Melanie Smith, Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam

© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2014. All Rights Reserved

Exhibition October 11, 2014 - January 11, 2015. Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Museumpark 18-20 - 3015 CX Rotterdam (The Netherlands). Hours: Tuesday-Sunday 11am-5pm.

 











Melanie Smith, Fordlandia, 2014. HD Video, 29:42 minutes. Collection Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen. Photo: Julien Devaux & Leonide Principe.

Melanie Smith, Fordlandia, 2014. HD Video, 29:42 minutes. Collection Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen. Photo: Julien Devaux & Leonide Principe.



Melanie Smith (b. 1965, Poole, UK) has lived and worked in Mexico City since 1989. Recurring themes in her work include migration, travel, adventure, dislocation and abstraction. Although Smith enjoys an international reputation, this will be the first opportunity for a Dutch audience to see her work on such a large scale. The exhibition is a partnership with the MK Gallery in Milton Keynes, where it was shown earlier this year.


Major acquisition
In 2012 Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen acquired Smith’s video Xilitla (2011), which was shown in the Mexican pavilion at the Venice Biennale the previous year. In this film Smith explores the Mexican rain forest and stumbles upon mysterious ruins overgrown with vegetation. The fantastic structures and follies were built by Edward James, the eccentric collector of Dalí, Delvaux and Magritte, part of whose collection was acquired by Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen in the 1970s.

Archives 2ème semestre 2014

Melanie Smith, Fordlandia

Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam (Pays-Bas)

11.10.2014 - 11.01.2015

Précédent Suivant

English



Traduction du communiqué de presse E-Flux


Le Musée Boijmans Van Beuningen présente la plus récente oeuvre vidéo de Melanie Smith, Fordlandia, dans le cadre de sa première exposition personnelle aux Pays-Bas. Le film se déroule dans l'Amazonie brésilienne, où Henry Ford a tenté d'établir une plantation de caoutchouc en 1928. Dans son travail, Melanie Smith explore la tension entre la nature et le développement industriel. L'exposition intègre également des collections d'objets, de peintures, de photographies, vidéos et collages réalisés par l’artiste depuis 1994.













© ArtCatalyse International / Marika Prévosto 2014. Tous droits réservés

Mai Tabakian, Cyclo, Mathilde Hatzenberger Gallery, Bruxelles Melanie Smith, Fordlandia, 2014. HD Video, 29:42 minutes. Collection Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen. Photo: Julien Devaux & Leonide Principe.

Melanie Smith, Fordlandia, 2014. HD Video, 29:42 minutes. Collection Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen. Photo: Julien Devaux & Leonide Principe.



L’artiste britannique Melanie Smith vit et travaille à Mexico depuis 1989. Les thèmes récurrents dans son travail sont la migration, le voyage, l’aventure, le bouleversement et l'abstraction. Bien que Smith jouisse d'une réputation internationale, ce sera la première occasion pour un public néerlandais de voir son travail à si grande échelle. L'exposition se déroule en partenariat avec la galerie MK à Milton Keynes, où elle a été présentée auparavant plus tôt cette année.

Une acquisition majeure
En 2012, le Musée Boijmans Van Beuningen a acquis la vidéo de Melanie Smith Xilitla (2011), qui a été montrée dans le pavillon du Mexique à la Biennale de Venise l'année précédente. Dans ce film, Smith explore la forêt tropicale mexicaine et découvre les ruines mystérieuses envahies par la végétation. Les structures et les folies fantastiques ont été construits par Edward James, le grand collectionneur de Dalí, Delvaux et Magritte, dont une partie de la collection a été acquise par le Musée Boijmans Van Beuningen dans les années 1970.



Exposition du 11 octobre 2014 au 11 janvier 2015. Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Museumpark 18-20 - 3015 CX Rotterdam (Pays-Bas). Ouverture du mardi au dimanche de 11h à 17h.